Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What happens when you're forced to re-roll everything due to 2 (or more) special rules. Some examples are:
Re-roll misses (due to Chaplin/priest/wolfclaw/preferred enemy/etc.) vs. re-roll hits (Lukas' Pelt of the dopelgangrel)
Re-roll failed wounds (Lightning claws/Deathcompany/poisoned attacks/Calgar's Titanic might) vs. re-roll successful wounds (Yarrick's Force Field)
Re-roll Failed saves (fateweaver/fortune/etc.) vs re-roll successful saves (Null zone/Swarmlord/Astoroth/etc.)
Going by the golden rule of never being able to re-roll a re-roll, it appears as though you would just roll your dice, and then pick them all up and roll them all again. So why not just skip the first step and simply roll once. Am I missing something because I tried explaining this to some people and they didn't seem to understand.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
yup. that's basically it. I asked this exact same question a few months ago on another thread. Anyways it came down to, you just roll everything again and stick with the second roll as it stands.
If this was in a game with me, and this situation came up, then yeah go ahead and just skip to the second roll. If it was against someone who doesn't understand the concept when you try to explain to them, then just pick up the dice and roll again.
Well using RAW you should do one re-roll.
So if you're trying to wound Yarrik with a ligntning claw and you have two hits you would roll them both to wound. Then re-roll the result, pass or fail and have the second result stand.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
I think it may be a missundesrstanding here, since you never re-roll a re-roll.
For eksample you can take the scenario whit wounding yarrik whit a Lightning claw, lets say i attack whit a space marine captain that charges, he have 3 attacks all 3 hits and to wound i need 4's, now lets say i roll two 4's and a 3, then i would use the Lightning claw rule to re-roll the 3 and because of Yarriks special rule you need to re-roll the two 4's.
so i don't see the problem whit this rule.
And i think it would be wrong to skip the whole second roll, lets use the same example as above just whit a Daemon prince whit warptime (re-roll to hit, re-roll to wound), lets say he hits whit all his 4 attacks, he need 2's to wound. now most likely you would get 1 or 2 misses, those you can re-roll, but you would also requier to re-roll the other 3-4 attack that wounded, this can easily mean the difference on a dead model or not. If you skipp this part you basicly ignores a models special rule that is there to increase it's survivability.
So i can't seem to see what the confusion is about.
- my 2 cents
Well it really depends, if were talking about a set of rules that call for the re-roll of the same roll type, e.g. to hit:
If you asked before the first roll I'd be inclined to skip the second two rule induced re-roll. It would have no known impact on the final result and save time.
If you asked after the first roll and I'm looking at a set of rolls that lay on your side of the statistical average for the target in question then no, I would insist on the mass re-roll.
Ultimately RaW is clear, though. Toss the dice, pick them up and toss again, so it's not an issue worth pushing.
Last edited by Leez; August 4th, 2010 at 18:02.
That was what i meant, you just managed to explain it better -_-'.
But also, most of the time you would ask for the re-roll after watching what dice roll he got, and the make him re-roll his hits (in the case of your exampel), but he could not have waited to ask you to re-roll your re-roll. If he want's you to re-roll the dices that hit he need to say it either before or after you have rolled the first batch