Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the Apocalypse codex on page 94, it says, "When shot at, flying vehicles follow the same rules as skimmers moving over 12", so all penetrating hits against them are always downgraded to glancing hits." However the rulebook on page 71 says, "A skimmer that is not immobilized and has moved flat out in its last turn counts as being obscured." Is there something I've missed, is this a typo, or can penetrating hits never be scored against flyers?
It's not a typo, Apocalypse was written before 5th ed, so they've covered their bases, just treat it as a skimmer for all intents and purposes. That is you will give the skimmer a 3+ cover save for moving flat out.
As far as how to handle it, it's just something you and your group need to discuss beforehand (which is always a good idea for everything in Apocalypse). For example, D weapons used to be affected by smoke launchers (i.e. downgraded to a glancing hit) but now that smokes grant a cover save the mechanics aren't clear for how the two rules interact.
Ah okay thank you both