Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
We had 2 interesting things happen in tonight's Spearhead game.
I was using an Eldar Scorpion Super Heavy tank (it has Eldar Titan holo-fields).
The Apocalypse rules for the holo-field state that every time a hit is scored vs a unit that moved in the previous turn (and has the Eldar Titan Holo-Field) the hit is discarded on a roll of 4+. If the unit did not move, then it does not get the save. Apocalypse Rulebook p96.
So...Would this protect you vs the Super-Heavy Spearhead rule that states if deployed (instead of kept in reserves) the super-heavy will suffer one penetrating hit before the battle starts. Damage is resolved at the start of the 1st turn.
Would you get the holo-field save against this hit? (we ruled you would)
1st turn, the opponent goes first and shoots at the Eldar unit with the Titan Holo-Field. Since there was no previous turn for it to have moved, does it get the holo-field save? Would it be assumed that the vehicle moved onto the battlefield into it's current position?
Just wondering what everyone thinks. One interesting side note: While the Eldar super heavy tanks to have 'Eldar Titan Holo-Fields' they are not Titans. The holo-field rule is worded (misworded?) as 'an Eldar Titan that moved...'
If a piece of gear requires you to move the model to benefit, then the model must move to get the benefit. You have yet to do either in each case, therefore don't get it.
A very big no to both questions.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Agreed that the answer to both questions is NO.
As for the assumption that the vehicle must have moved onto the battlefield to where it is deployed, it could just as easily have remained stationary immediately prior to the battle. Consider, for example, that it also could remain stationary during a game turn - hence the specification in the rule.
The vehicle hasn't moved in either scenario and doesn't benefit from the save.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
This is why I always put my Cobra in reserve and take the Careful Planning asset.
Agreed. The wording is very specific that the Titan must have moved in the previous turn. The only bad thing is also according to the wording, it only effect Titans, and thus super heavy tanks can't get the 4+ save. I doubt anyone has had an opponent actually call this out (though mine almost did). GW should do an FAQ on this for sure (or at least forgeword, as the older Scorpion/Cobra rules specified their field saves instead of just 'Eldar Titan Holo Field).