Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Played an IG player and he was outflanking his stormtrooper transports (chimeras) empty. Then deepstriking his stormtroopers. He also rolled for both units together for reserves.
I don't think this is legal, but I wanted to ask.
Rulebook p75, Infiltrate Special Ability specifies that if a unit with this ability in deployed inside a transport, then it can't infiltrate. It also states that Infiltrate confers the special outflank move to units of infiltrators that are kept in reserve.
So...even though the vehicle could not infiltrate, could it still outflank as that is different that actually infiltrating.
If the unit has a dedicated transport and is NOT deployed inside, can the transport outflank? Is there anywhere that suggests a unit with the infiltrate ability confers this to the transport?
Scout special rule p76 does specifically states that if a unit with the Scout ability is deployed inside a dedicated transport, then Scout is conferred to that transport as well.
So with Scout, it clearly seems they could outflank. However it does say the unit must be deployed in the transport. Thus no outflanking empty chimera.
You are correct, that is not legal.
If the stormtroopers were deepstriking, then all the chimeras could have done was either be held in reserve to enter normally, or to be delpoyed on the table at the start of the game as normal.
The chimeras could only outflank if the stormtroopers had chosen the 'mission' that gives them scout and were inside the chimera.
2500 points of Empire for ToXG: Points painted for month 4: 0 Points painted overall: 510
Yep, if a unit with a dedicated transport can outflank they can d so while inside the transport.
Those Stormtroopers however were not in their dedicated transport.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Also, separate units arrive from reserve roll seperately. The only exception is when the unit is arriving from reserve inside its transport.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."