Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A quick question that came up in a recent game, a rhino has its access hatches completly blocked, so the only direction it can move is forward.
Could the rhino turn around in this situation? Bearing in mind all 3 sides of the tank are covered in infantry.
We coudnt come to a descision on this because both sides seemed to have a point. On the against side the vehicle couldnt be turned without touching opposing models, which obviously isnt allowed unless tank shocking, on the for side, turning doesnt count as moving the vehicle so it shouldnt count as a tank shock.
Who is right here? I suspect against but id rather get some clarification
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
It can move forward, turn around, and reverse. To my knowledge it can't pivot through an enemy unit.
If the player doesn't want to move the Rhino but wants to turn it, he should be aware that it's actually beneficial in that kind of situation since standing still allows the surrounding units to hit automatically, as well as making it easier to totally surround the vehicle. If he wants his infantry to disembark and move, he can perform an emergency disembarkation, which I remember seeing in the transport rules somewhere. If it was me and I had room, I'd just move the rhino as far forward as it can, turn it around, and disembark the unit, using the Rhino as a shield to stop them being charged, and charge next turn.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
The Rhino can rotate in it's spot perfectly fine and can move whatever direction it wants, causing a Tank Shock if it does move from wherever it rotated. There is no hindrance a vehicle being surrounded by infantry models.
Page 63 talks about Vehicles and Assaults and notes that "the vehicle... [is] free to simply move away in future turns" and "if the vehicle pivots on the spot... move these models out of the way as you shift the vehicle and then place them back into base contact with the vehicle." Honestly, in this situation, the Rhino has a lot of options:
A) Moved forward. Nothing happens but the vehicle leaving the group surrounding it.
Rotate another direction. Models are moved to allow the vehicle to rotate and then placed back as close as they can to their starting position. The vehicle can then move in its new direction. If any models are in its way when it moves this new direction, Tank Shock occurs.
C) Remain where it is. The passengers can perform an emergency disembarkation.
D) Rotate another direction, as above. The passengers can perform a regular disembarkation from the open hatch.
So, the situation you described isn't that bad off and there's little the enemy player can do to hinder you at the moment.
Regarding the rules for placing models back in base contact with a rotating vehicle, should they be placed back in contact nearest to their original position on the ground (i.e. standing back whilst the vehicle rotates, then closing in again), or closest to their original position against the vehicle (i.e. rotating with the vehicle) or should it be owner's choice?
"Original position" is the way I would play that one. Moving a model so that it is still in contact with the vehicle's rear armour even though the rear of the vehicle is now 6" away from its first position means that the infantry model would have just gained a free 6" move, which isn't corroborated anywhere in the rules. In a future turn, that extra 'move' could be advantageous.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
As Eiglepupler just said, they should be placed as close to their original position on the board, rather than their position relative to the vehicle. Really, it doesn't matter too much for the assaulting unit, since Assault against a vehicle always uses the same armour rating (regardless of where the model is located): BRB pg. 63 ("Armour penetration in close combat") and pg. 73 ("Walkers and Assaults").
If the models assaulted the tank last turn then use the assaulting vehicles rules. If they didn't then they must have stopped 1" away from the tank. Then the tank cannot pivot because it would move within 1" of the models. Tank shocking is a pivot and then declare distance moving. If you cannot pivot due to the 1" rule, then you cannot tank shock.
Just drive out of it, and then turn around.