What happens if you run out of army before your reserves arrive? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Vitae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Age
    51
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    What happens if you run out of army before your reserves arrive?

    Greetings

    We had a very intense game at our club the other day. The game was a standard Seize Ground / Pitched Battle

    Both players set up and put some troops in reserve.

    Turn #2 – Player #1 – rolled for reserves and failed. Turn continued as normal.
    Turn #2 – Player #2 – rolled for reserves and failed. Turn continued as normal.
    Turn #3 – Player #1 – rolled for reserves and failed. Player #1 decimated Player #2
    Turn #3 – Player #1 – rolled for reserves and failed. Player #2 rallied troops and manoeuvred
    Turn #4 – Player #1 – rolled for reserves and succeeded. Player #1 wiped out Player #2.

    Game ended (due to time limit), but what would have happened if there had have been more time.

    According to 40k Rules p 90, once a player wipes out his opponents army they win, and as it stands at the end of Game Turn 4, Player Turn 1 that was the state of the board – Player #2 was wiped out. So does Player 1 win at that point?

    Or

    Does Game Turn 4, Player Turn 2 – start and does Player #2 get to roll to see if his reserves arrive, if they don’t does Player 1 take a somewhat pointless Turn #5 and then Player #2 gets his guys as the they arrive automatically on turn 5 as per the Reserves Table on p94.

    How does this stack up with the Delayed Result on p95 where it says if the game ends and your units are still in reserve they are destroyed?

    Note: - the rules I’ve always been taught would have it that Player #2 lost as soon as his army was wiped out, reserves notwithstanding. But I can’t find anything conclusive on that in 5th Ed beyond the little section on p90.

    Can anyone give me a definitive yeah or nay and a reference?

    Armies (W/L/D)
    Imperial Guard: 2500pts 10/0/1, Space Marines: 2000pts 22/0/3
    CSM: 1750pts 5/0/0, DE: 1850pts 19/0/1, ORKs: 2500pts 11/1/0,

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Reserves count for Kill Points and/or Victory Points if the game ends before they arrive. They are not considered 'dead' until they've been destroyed or failed to arrive in the final turn.

    Therefore, you have not yet achieved 'Wipeout!', and the game continues until its proper end.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Which, I seem to remember, led to the unfortunate situation in 3rd edition, before this was cleared up, where it was possible to field an entire Dark Eldar army in reserve but for one model, and if that model died, boy, did someone get an easy victory...
    Battlecries: Sorbr'and Tau force: For the Greater Good!
    Ordo Corvus Witch Hunters: Only in our flames will the heretic find peace!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Don't forget that there's also a precedent for this: Chaos Daemons start with nothing on the board, but if we were to go by the ruling that 'empty table = victory,' everyone would have to house-rule CD to make them playable.

  6. #5
    Senior Member matus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    337 (x6)

    Quite a few players, fritz and his eldar in particular reserve thier whole army at the start of the game, not just daemons. A table with no opponents on does not give you victoru, just time to move into position, spread out to make deep striking hard, block table edges, capture objectives, go to ground etc

  7. #6
    Senior Member SkyDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    604
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    According to 40k Rules p 90, once a player wipes out his opponents army they win, and as it stands at the end of Game Turn 4, Player Turn 1 that was the state of the board – Player #2 was wiped out. So does Player 1 win at that point?
    If I understant the question right, you want to know, if you have nothing left alive on the board but you still have units in reserve, does that count as a wipe out? No. Next turn you roll for reserves as normal, if they don't come, your aponant can spend the turn moving his units around (or not if he's happy where he is) then it's your turn again.

    How does this stack up with the Delayed Result on p95 where it says if the game ends and your units are still in reserve they are destroyed?
    That's if you have a set mission objective. For example: Your mission is to defend a sacred artifact and his is to destroy it. If he completes his mission objective and claims victory while you're stuck in reserve, you die in reserve.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts