Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
"The power is used at the start of any player's turn. If successful, the psyker may re-roll all rolls to hit and rolls to wound for the entirety of that player's turn."
Now, my friends have been telling me that because of the specific wording of this power, I do not get to re-roll misses or failed wounds. Instead, I must look at the result, and decide if I want to re-roll the entire pile of to-hits/to-wounds. But that seems more like the kind of thing a power would be a little more explicit about, and doesn't make warptime seem nearly as great as everyone claims it is.
So which is it? Was this supposed to be re-roll misses/failed wounds, or re-rolling entire piles if you decide they're unfavorable?
They're being stupidly literal. You can pick which dice to re-roll.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Typically if an ability is going to force you to re-roll all dice (both successful and unsuccessful) it'll be fairly explicit about it. Otherwise I'm Poodle, they're being obnoxiously literal. I've never heard of an instance at a tournament where Warptime required you to re-roll all your dice.
I've never thought of it that way before. Though now that you brought it up, I can see that this interpretation (re-rolling the entire roll) makes sense too, from the wording. In any case, I've always just seen the interpretation that you can pick which dice to reroll, like ze_poodle said.
RaW versus house-rules.
You have to come to an agreement over which you are playing. Where I play the general agreement is you play RaW unless otherwise agreed before the game started.
Good luck trying to convince them that the power is basically 'reroll all failed to-hits and to-wounds,' though. They're a very argumentive bunch, and until GW releases an errata for just that one rule I can expect them to tell me it's the other way to the end of the world. Heck, my one friend is trying to argue because of the new Doom of Malanti errata, psyker's should never be allowed to use powers from transports, and that 'wierd' psychic powers (ie: anything that doesn't cause wounds) grant cover saves.
For what it is worth I am in the re-roll the misses camp.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
I say re-roll only the failed results. That's how my friends and I have always played it, and that's how I've always seen it played.
Last edited by Leez; August 26th, 2010 at 03:10. Reason: .
I just realized another interesting way to look at this rule, that rather explains that the intent was probably to reroll failed hits and wounds:
If it was to be interpreted as literally as possible, I would have to choose to reroll all to-hits and to-wounds for the entire turn before rolling a single die; meaning I would roll to hit, then throw the result away and reroll, then roll to wound and automatically throw that result away and reroll. I'd be spending 25 points for a 'practice roll,' and ultimately gaining no effect from the ability.
I think my friend agrees with this logic, and also the fact that the codex would be a lot more explicit (IE: finding the phrase "even if the reroll is worse") if it were referring to rerolling the entire pile. It seems more like they wanted it to be "reroll misses/failed wounds, or even hits if you want to stay locked for some reason" and just gave us a bad case of sloppy wording.