Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Firstly, I do not play Blood Angels. This is not a discussion about whether it's a good move or not. This is a question about whether it is allowed or not.
Everyone knows that Mephiston is not an IC, and so cannot join other units.
How about other IC's joining Mephiston? I see nothing preventing this.
IC cannot join one model units. Ill have a look for the page when i can, but thats why.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Ya I found it. You're right
No, but Mephiston can take an honour guard unit.
Page 52 listing their special rules and giving their flufff entry. "A high-ranking Blood Angels officer is often accompanied by a dedicated squad of body guards known as an Honour Guard."
1. They are not listed as a Retinue.
2. The part you quote even describes them as their own unit.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Main rule book page 48. "Some Codex books allow you to field characters together with a special unit that thay cannot leave during the game, which is normally called a retinue, bodyguard or similar."They are not listed as a Retinue
BA codex page 84. "You can take one unit of honour guard for every HQ unit you have included in your army."It clearley states they are not their own unit, they don't get a slot anywhere on the force org chart, they are attached to the HQ slot they were taken with.The part you quote even describes them as their own unit
If they are thier own unit then what are they? They arn't troops, they arn't elites, they arn't fast attack and they arn't heavy. It clearley says they are taken as a HQ but don't get a HQ slot of their own. They are a dedicated retinue unit attached to their HQ character.