Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The situations are following:
1) A Farseer casts Fortune on a unit with joined independent character. As I understand, both the unit and the character can now re-roll saves. Then, in the following movement phase, the character leaves the unit. The question is: who can now reroll saves - the unit or the character or both?
2)A Farseer cast Fortune on a unit. Then, in movement phase, an independent character joins the unit. Who can reroll saves now - only the unit or both the unit and the joined character?
The same situations can be applied to the Guide psychic power.
I couldn't find out the answers in the FAQs or codex, but I can have missed something...
The answer to question 1 would be both get to re-roll even after the IC leaves the unit because the power had already been cast upon him. In scenario 2, only the unit, not the IC can re-roll as the power was not cast upon him.
World Eaters: W-47 D-10 L-9
Necrons: W-19 D-3 L-2
Protectorate of Menoth: W-36 D-0 L-7
I'd tend to disagree.
You cast fortune on the unit, which the IC gains when he joins. That means if he leaves, he no longer has the power.
By the same token, that means if he joins the unit with fortune, he now benefits from it, because hes part of the uni.
Of course, close combat then further confuses this, but i think it would still apply.
The IC would still get the benefits. They are still only 1 unit. The only difference is that his attacks are resolved independently from the unit itself.Of course, close combat then further confuses this, but i think it would still apply.
Think of it this way. A marine command squad with Apothecary gives the entire unit Feel No Pain. Any IC joining will also benefit from FNP as he is now a part of the unit. Once he leaves, he will no longer have FNP as he can't "take" it with him.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
The Eldar FAQ gives this example:
"Q: If a Farseer joins a unit that includes a Warlock with the Embolden power, does he get to re-roll failed psychic tests?
A: Yes - the presence of the Warlock obviously help the Farseer to concentrate"
Ok, so the FAQ's reply is a little bit tongue-in-cheek, but essentially what this question is showing is that only if the Farseer joins the Warlock's unit will he benefit from the Embolden power. The opposite therefore must be true, that if he *leaves* the Warlock's unit he will no longer benefit from Embolden.
In the OP's first question, he said that the IC joins the unit. That means that the IC is now part of the unit, must stay in coherency with it, etc etc. The BRB on P.48 3rd bullet point reminds us though that this is a "combined unit"; it effectively has more than one constituent, but for the moment all those constituent parts act as one - moving, shooting and assaulting (with the exception of course for the IC being targeted separately in combat).
If during the following movement phase the IC leaves the unit it had joined, this means that the combined unit reverts to two separate units. The Farseer power "Fortune" only allows a single Eldar unit to be targeted, therefore only one can reap the benefit. Since the IC is now a separate unit again from the unit he joined, he cannot take the Fortune power with him as it was cast on the unit he joined while he was in it and formed part of it.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Ok, thank you very much guys