Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Artillery units are hybrids that contain "vehicle" guns and "infantry" crew.
So, if I want to shoot a squad at enemy Artillery can I issue the order to "bring it down" (vehicles and MCs only - weapons count as twin-linked) even though the crew aren't vehicles? It says I can pick an enemy vehicle or squadron of vehicles and the ordered squad immediately fire on it. I would be picking the gun "vehicle". Issue is, does the mixed nature of the artillery squad rule out any bonus?
One option would be to roll to allocate hits and count the ones against the guns as twin lined and the ones on crew as normal. Thoughts?
Last edited by Korona; October 6th, 2010 at 01:33.
Copy, Improve, Innovate
I'd have to go with what the unit type says in the codex entry. "Bring it down" works on unit types "vehicle" and "monstrous creature".
Since the unit type is "artillery" I would say that you cannot use Bring it down on artillery.
General Van Rensaler
Commander of the Cadian 713th
"The Sledgehammer of the Emperor"
It's a vehicle if the model has armour facing values. If it has a toughness value, it is not a vehicle. Seems simple enough. You can only target things with an armour value (unless its a monstrous creature, of course)
If you're looking at IG mortar teams, no.
Basilisk, Meduas, etc., then yes you can.
SM thunderfire cannon, also no.
Well IG mortars and Bassis aren't a good analogy because they don't have the "artillery" unit type despite having bombardment weapons.
TFCs are a different story, the BRB on pg 55 says that artillery guns should be considered to be vehicles. Therefore the Thundefire cannon does have an AV ( AV10 ) and the rules imply that you treat is as seperate from the techpriest when dealing with incoming fire (after allocating hits).
I do like Rensaler's interpretation and it stays on the safe side of the rules. I do feel this is a fringe case though and isn't covered explcitly since an artillery gun IS a vehicle to all intents and purposes. I think I will suggest the pre-designating hits option if it ever comes up and then let my opponent decide which he thinks is fairest.
Last edited by Korona; October 9th, 2010 at 02:04.
Copy, Improve, Innovate