Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Short and sweet - can e.g. a Defiler fire its Ordnance weapon on a target and then assault it same turn? Examples of where you might like to : Opening a transport and then assaulting its contents.
Thanks for looking
I would say yes they can, as there is nothing in the rules that would prohibit this, Ordinance just says you can't fire any other weapons. Ordinance Barrage might be a little move confusing as you can't move, but again I'm not seeing anything prohibiting assaulting. Although I'm not sure when you'd need to use a barrage weapon (or be able to due to min range) on a target that's within assault range, maybe if your behind them and they fallback 18" (cause they're bikes) towards you.
Last edited by Bugs_n_Orks; November 11th, 2010 at 18:49.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
Sure it can. I believe the only restrictions are on ordnance barrages, in which a vehicle must remain stationary to fire. However, that restriction is in the movement phase only, not the assault phase.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Cool, i always get confused with a Walker's rights, often mixing their rules with MC's and the Relentless USR I realise that the walker rules state move and fire ALL weapons, and don't mention any specific restrictions on assaulting after firing. My main thoughts against it had been based on the main assault rules (which i have just found on p33):
... cannot assault if fired rapid-fire or heavy weapons. (which can be cancelled out by Relentless USR & MC rules)
So, on reflectiion, i agree it does not restrict ordnance assaults sweet!
Just a quick summary on a few key notes:
1) Since walkers can move and fire their weapons just as though they were stationary, there's really no issue with a Defiler moving and then firing its ordinance (or moving, firing ordinance, and then assaulting).
2) A walker can move and fire all its weapons, just like a stationary vehicle. However, a stationary vehicle cannot fire its ordinance weapon & its other arsenal of weapons in the same round. It's either or.
Spambot kill tally. . .337