Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Reading Pg 67 of the rule book and it suggests that dedicated transport can deploy empty ( can only carry related unit on deployment, doesn't say 'has to have related unit on board at deployment.)
In this case would it be possible to deploy a Terminator squads dedicated Land Raider empty, thus allowing the Terminators to Deep Strike whilst having the Land Raider available from turn 1 without it filling up a Heavy Support slot?
Yes, they are treated exactly like they would be treated if they hadn't been bought togeather with a few exeptions:
1) Only those termies can start inside it, so you cant start a tactical squad in there.
2) The land raider is now treated like elites, if your terminators are deathwing or loganwing it may become a troops choice, allowing you to delpoy it in a dawn of war game.
3)If the terminators had scout or infiltrate it would be able to outflank while they ride inside of it.
The Emperor Protects
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Cool, thanks for that
If you chose to i believe you can buy the land raider as a transport for the termis and then not use it, but it wouldn't take up a Heavy Support choice as it will be classed as a dedicated transport. Ive never come across anyone doing that though, then there's the fact that unless you show them your army list, they won't know that the tank isnt a HS choice.
It's not a too serious question, after returning to the hobby after a 10 year gap, with a 10 year gap before that I was just going to paint up my old Eldar figures and it's snowballed into trying to get usable lists with a diversity of models / figures for Eldar, Dark Eldar, IG, SM, CSM, Tau, Ork and Necron. and with Devastators / Predators and Vindicators etc etc looking like cool models I was trying to see how I could shoe-horn a Land Raider in legitimately
Also people wont like it if they find out you've bought a LR as a DT so you can still have 3 HS choices. If you buy a LR as a DT then use it for them, otherwise bit pointless.
Not pointless at all - if your terminators don't need the transport, but you've space for an AV14 tank with nice weapons then it's bloody handy. You could field 5 Land Raiders in a regular SM army in this manner... sure it won't be a small game, but it'll be interesting.If you buy a LR as a DT then use it for them, otherwise bit pointless.