Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I could not find this in the rule book, so I was just wondering what the rules were for taking cover saves against blast attacks. This is because my Tyranid Mawloc has a Terror of the Deep attack, where he rises and explodes from the ground beneath and is represented as a kind of blast attack, but it says in the FAQ that you may be able to take cover saves from it. I could not find this in rulebook.
Thanks in advance,
'Regular' blasts determine cover by the normal means, being area terrain or LoS from the firer. Barrage blasts determine cover from area terrain also but use relative position of the center hole of the marker to the target(s) instead of LoS.
My Tyranid book is out in my car, but I don't recall the Mawloc's special attack resolving like a Barrage. (Could be wrong though.) So that would pretty much mean that you get cover for being in terrain.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
While the Mawloc's attack is similar to a blast attack, it is not actually a blast attack. Its attack is an exception to the standard rules so you cannot just take the rules for blast attacks and apply it to its special rule. The Tyranid FAQ explains clearly how to handle its attack in regards to cover for its target.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2