Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a game the other day where my Warboss joined a squad of nobz. The nobz were then shot to hell forcing them and the WB to run away. When you come to regroup can I split the WB away from the squad or is he still part of the unit?
Am I right in thinking a Squad of 10 boyz and WB get shot up. 7 boyz die causing them and WB to run. As the unit is under 50% it is unable to regroup resulting in one WB and 3 boyz running like grots off the board?
Or can the WB regroup on his own and go back to being Independent?
Hope that makes sense
nope, the Independent character cannot join or leave a unit while either he or the unit is locked in combat or falling back.
rules p48, right side 6th bullet point.
One of the disadvantages of having the character in a unit. And a great way to nutralize a high cost/powerful IC by shooting up the unit he's with.
At the beginning of turn 1, I spray my opponent's army with the bacon flavored spray. Then I unleash my Boston Terrier Squiggoth who then devours their entire bacon flavored army! There is no defense against her cuteness! All are doomed!
In the original example of the WB and the Nobz which you gave us, you asked whether the WB could be moved away from the unit when it comes time to regroup. We'll assume that you had sufficient members of the Nobz unit left in order to remain at half strength, be in coherency etc.
Regrouping is on P.46 BRB. In the second paragraph it says that if the unit is able to attempt a regroup (ie over half strength, etc) then it does so in the Movement Phase before the unit moves. If the regroup is successful, then the unit may make a restricted move of "x" inches (fourth paragraph). It would however IMHO still not be ok for the WB to move out of the unit since this is not a regular movement but is an ex gratia permission to move "x" inches due to the successful regroup. Paragraph Five says that no further movement may be done by the unit that turn, and it would be during the standard movement phase that the IC/WB would normally effect his departure from the unit.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Thank you very much! I can sort of hear the final i on chiisai, though it's very faint. Having the romaji makes memorizing so much easier.