Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If my understanding of deployment is correct, an IC can begin the game embarked upon the dedicated transport of a unit that it has joined. I assume that this includes a drop pod.
Drop pods have a capacity of twelve models (god knows where the extra two spaces are - it looks squishy in there!). Does this mean that an HQ in terminator armour could join a full unit in its drop pod?
I'd love to deploy a unit of ten Sternguard plus Librarian in terminator armour and drop them into a vulnerable enemy area. Sure it would be expensive (about 410 points by my quick estimation, including upgrades) but that would be a small army in its own right. :p
Yep, an IC in terminator armour would count as 2 models.
As long as your transport can hold termies and has the room for them then you can load it up to your hearts content.
Unlike the Rhino, the drop pod entry doesn't specify that it can't carry models in terminator armour.
Drop pods are dedicated transports and the terminator entry doesn't have an option to select a drop pod so we can't load a termi squad into one, but there's nothing preventing IC's in terminator armour attached to another squad embarking on a drop pod.
Short ansewer: Yes, you can put an IC in termi amrour in a pod and yes they count a 2 models.
That's awesome. I've never used a drop pod but just got one from my Secret Santa. The next SM paint job I as planning to do is my scratch-built Sternguard unit...
i would question this based on the latest FAQ for tyranids in which an IC (tyranid prime) can not join a unit of warriors in their dedicated transport (mycetic spore)
A Mycetic Spore functions completely differently from transports (for starters, it's a Monstrous Creature), and as such the Tyranid FAQ has no relevance to this. IC's may always join a unit and board a transport vehicle, in deployment or not.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
I do not see how it being a monstrous creature takes away from the fact that it is a transport used to deep strike units onto the board. both have carrying capacities, both have weapons on them and can be destroyed after deployment, functionally they seem identical.
Till the FAQ i would have allowed independent characters to be deepstriked with attached units, but the FAQ changed it for all drop pods and spores, though i do allow teleportation
Hugh? No, it was an item in the nid FAQ about mycetic spores. It has nothing to do with spacemarine drop pods.the FAQ changed it for all drop pods and sporesIt's not for you to 'allow'. It's not up to you, the rules clearly state a unit can start the game with an IC attached, and they can enter the game via deep strike with an IC attached.i would have allowed independent characters to be deepstriked with attached units, but the FAQ changed it for all drop pods and spores, though i do allow teleportation
Some cases have rules stating exceptions to this like the nid FAQ about spores and the rule against riding in a rhino with termi armour. But without a rule stating an exception the standing rules would apply.
An IC in termi armour is free to join a squad deployed in a drop pod.
"Q. If a tyranid unit takes a mycetic spore, can an Independent character join the brood before deployment (and hence deep strike in with the brood)?"
"A. No" is from the FAQ. I can see no functional difference in a mycetic spore and a drop pod, a brood is a squad of tyranid. so by the rules of symmetry (if "a"="b" then where ever i have "a" i can substitute "b") then if a unit takes a drop pod an independent character can not join it, thereby deep striking with that unit.
I would be willing to allow for a independent character being in a transport with a unit, as long as that transport was deployed on the board. But by the logic of your argument independent characters can not deploy with units in reserve, in a transport or not.
Last edited by Prisoner37; December 28th, 2010 at 09:04. Reason: editted to remove smiley