BA Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: BA Question

  1. #1
    Member ShadowFingers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    BA Question

    I was recently playing a battle against a friend and he brought in a furioso and I took the front armor down to a 1 and his weapons were destoid along with being immobalised, can he still... if he had it... use wings of singwinious becasue tecnecally he would be moving and the drednought is disabled... I do appologize for my spelling

    One by One do we destroy this world in which we live. Inch by Inch we creep towards our destruction. The sad thing is, it was our own doing...

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Since he's immobilised he isn't able to move whatsoever even when activating Wings of Sanguinius.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    What do ya mean "took his front armor down to a 1"?
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Senior Member SkyDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    604
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    Humm, good question. I'd say yes, an immobilised result will have no effect on psychic powers, it's the psychic power that's moving him.

    His legs might be busted but he's not using his legs.
    In the 41st millenium there is no such thing as paranoia, the universe realy is out to get you!

  6. #5
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    This has been discussed in the past and tho I don't have a link to it, it was concluded that being immobilised does stop you from moving with Wings of Sanguinius.

    Wings of Sanguinius merely allows you to "Move as if you were jump infantry" and you are unable to move due to being immobilised. Fluff =/= Rules. Consider your Wings clipped.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

  7. #6
    Senior Member SkyDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    604
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    Wings of sanguinius: "...It allows the librarian to move as if he had a jump pack."

    It says in the rule, the power "allows the librarian to move."

    Rules: The abilety to cast psychic powers would not be effected by an immobilised result. It's a power that actuley grants the abilerty to move.

    Fluff: Wings of psychic energy carry the librarian through the air, he doesn't need legs.

    It sounds right to me.
    In the 41st millenium there is no such thing as paranoia, the universe realy is out to get you!

  8. #7
    Senior Member Archon Charybdis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x3)

    If you're going to make an argument by taking something out of context, its best to not show us the original context.

    Yes, the power allows him to move as jump infantry instead of as a Walker. He can now function as a jump infantry vehicle with an immobilized result.

  9. #8
    Senior Member SkyDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Age
    32
    Posts
    604
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Archon Charybdis View Post
    If you're going to make an argument by taking something out of context, its best to not show us the original context.
    In what way did I take it out of context?

    "...allows the librarian to move as if he had a jump pack.."

    It's a psychic power that allows the librarin to move. It says "allows the librarian to move" and how he can move, "as if he had a jump pack".
    He can now function as a jump infantry vehicle with an immobilized result.
    The power "allows the librarian to move". A psychic power is not effected by an immobilsied result.
    In the 41st millenium there is no such thing as paranoia, the universe realy is out to get you!

  10. #9
    Senior Member Archon Charybdis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    108 (x3)

    You're cherry picking the phrase "allows the librarian to move" and pulling it out of context to imply it gives a permission to move regardless of all other modifiers--which it does not. It doesn't say "he can move", period end of story. What it is doing is modifying his normal ability to move by saying he can move like jump infantry instead. It does nothing to negate his existing immobilized status. If you want a fluff justification for it, perhaps he could fly with his psychic wings, but his legs still aren't working. If he were to land he'd crumple in a heap and just do further damage to himself.

  11. #10
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyDog View Post
    The power "allows the librarian to move". A psychic power is not effected by an immobilsied result.
    No, but a vehicle is.

    One thing you have to keep in mind is that this ability assumes that a unit can move. Just like Power of the Machine Spirit assumes a land raider has a gun to shoot with. Now if the LR loses all its guns, then can it still fire 1 gun because of PotMS?

    Take another example - the librarian is pinned. Does casting Wings then still allows him to move while he is still pinned? No. He has to be in a condition where he can freely move. The same applies to an immobilised dread.
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts