Do reserves deploy? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Son of LO Polaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,653
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    720 (x8)

    Do reserves deploy?

    This is a very simple question, but with lots of unforeseen consequences: When reserves arrive do they count as deploying or not?

    Rulebook p. 94 - Rolling for reserves "Once all of the units have been rolled for, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it."

    (This would seem to indicate reserves deploy)

    Rulebook FAQ 1.2 p. 6 - "Q: Can unit deploy in impassable terrain? Not unless its specifically allowed to move through impassable terrain."

    (This would mean, if reserves deploy, that jump pack units could freely deep strike into impassable terrain)

    Codex: Space Marines p. 51 - Combat Squads "The decision to split a unit into combat squads [...] must be made when the unit deploys."

    (This would mean, if reserves deploy, that all reserved units make the decision to split or not only when they come off reserve)

    What do you think?

    (I'm not sure myself)

    Revenant Moon Necrons: (W/L/D) 0/1/0 (6th edition: 13/2/2)(5th edition: 14/6/4)(3rd edition Codex: 16/4/7)
    XIX Legion: (W/L/D) 0/0/0 (5th edition: 14/12/2)(5th edition Codex: 4/3/0)
    Black Legion: (W/L/D) 1/0/0 (6th edition: 2/3/0)
    Something Wicked... Reikwald Beastmen: (W/L/D) 10/4/1

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Awesomeville
    Age
    22
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Im assuming you want to split combat squads when you come in via deepstrike, ie droppod. You can, because, as you said, you deploy when you come in via reserves. Whether that is deepstrike or board edge is irrelevant.
    Me "You can't willingly run off the map"
    -chaos berserker leaves map-
    Friend "What now!"
    Me "So, umm... is the game over?"

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Jump Infantry do not move "through" impassable terrain, but over it.

    As far as combat squads and reserves, just remember that a unit cannot be split in reserve. Splitting once out of reserve should still be ok.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    jboweruk
    Guest

    And to prove that point if you have a 10 man tactical squad in a drop pod they split into combat squads after the pod lands, ie when they 'deploy' out of it.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts