Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
im getting more confused eahc time i re-read the independant characters in assault rules, please help me clarify the situation.
2 ICs and a unit charge 1 IC and a unit.
none of the ICS have the enemy IC as the nearest model so charge the unit
the enemy IC is engaged, so cannot pile in to the ICs.
so the whole fight, none of the wounds caused by any of the 3 ICS will carry onto the opposing IC?
after the fight, the IC rejoins the unit, just before winner is determinded, and take morale/extra saves as part of the unit?
That's how i have seen it. As soon as they go into close combat then they count as a separate unit. That means that if they are both in cc then they have to be in base contact to strike each other. If they are not then the opponent won't be able to allocate wounds to them so they won't die.
thanks, hope its right because that one line about treating them as a seperate single model unit isnt exacltly highlighted lol. guess thats the problem when you switch from 1 ed to another, your in danger of skimming the rules
That's completely correct. Only models who are in base contact with an Independent Character, or who are within 2" of a model who is in base contact with the IC but who themselves are NOT in base contact with ANY model, can attack the IC. The best way to see this in action is to study the picture at the top of P.49 BRB and factor in the other ICs.Just to clarify what you said there: you know that the IC never actually "leaves" the unit? He just fights as a separate entity within the unit while in combat. However, yes, he is affected by the results of the combat and will fall back with the unit on a failed Morale check. It's unlikely that you would want to put any extra armour saves from the No Retreat! rule onto your IC, but there's nothing in the rules to stop you doing this.after the fight, the IC rejoins the unit, just before winner is determinded, and take morale/extra saves as part of the unit?
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Hi hanks, my main concern with my normal gaming partner was whether or not wounds get spread to ICs that are not in contact.
essentially, my chaplain got pinned against the drop-pod surrounded by 9 assault marines. the orks couldnt make contact with him. we figured that the chap could not be attacked, or targeted directly. but if the orks inflict 13 wounds, do i:
spread them between 9 marines, OR 9 marines and the chaplain? we figured its the former, as he is treated as a seperate unit until after combat results.
it got more complicated when a seer council with eldrad and yriel charged ghazgul and 7 nobs, and the next turn some burnas came in from one end and badrukk and stormboyz the other....but thats a different story (we were testing out ICs, dont normally field every character under the sun )