Little noobish question ( Warp Fiel Zoan ) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Little noobish question ( Warp Fiel Zoan )

    A question about Warp Field, in the codex said that is a Special Rule and no Psichic Power, like Synapsis, then...

    The 3+ InvSave of Zoan is always active ?

    If is always active, there sometimes that you MUST use the normal 5+ save and ingore the InvSave??


    thx and sorry for my english


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Unless specified elsewhere, any listed save (armour or invulnerable) is always there and can be used when appropiate.

    As for the second question, if something ignores invulnerables saves you would then be required to use the armour save of 5+ (assuming no cover), otherwise the invulnerable save must be used as it is the best save available (rulebook page 24, "models with more than one save").

  4. #3
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Unfortunately every weapon that ignores invulnerable saves is at least AP5 so there is never a case where you would get the armor save if you lost he invulnerable save.

  5. #4
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hockeyman506 View Post
    Unfortunately every weapon that ignores invulnerable saves is at least AP5 so there is never a case where you would get the armor save if you lost he invulnerable save.
    You cannot state that as a fact, iirc there are some close combat attacks (not related to necrons) that deny invulnerable saves but not armour. Remember there is imperial armour, planetstrike, cities of death etc etc.

    Hell even someone's custom rules may let such a scenario come into effect, os it is about understanding the mechanic rather than saying "nope".

  6. #5
    Son of LO Heirodule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,138
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    344 (x8)

    He's right though. So to elaborate, in standard 40k there is no situation in which you will use the armour save, if the invulernable save is ignored, then the armour save would be too.
    Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature

  7. #6
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Heirodule View Post
    He's right though. So to elaborate, in standard 40k there is no situation in which you will use the armour save, if the invulernable save is ignored, then the armour save would be too.
    Yet you are adding criteria that wasn't asked for. It is possible for an invulnerable save to be ignored and not armour, nowhere in the original question did it specify "standard" 40k (which can basically be whatever you want it to).

  8. #7
    Son of LO Heirodule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,138
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    344 (x8)

    Well standard 40k would be played without any of the expansions or house rules in effect. In other words played by the book and nothing but the book. Least i imagine thats how most people would interpret it.

    And well, to be honest you explained the point perfectly well in the initital post. Theres no need for me to chime in repeating what youve already said, i didnt say you were wrong, all I did was elaborate the fact that in a standard game of 40k there is no situation for the armour save to be used. Consider it adding to whats already been said. Im equally right in what im saying however. Im sure the OP has "understood the mechanic" perfectly well, however its meerly clarifying that hockeyman is infact correct, assuming your not talking about one of those expansions. I would imagine if the OP was talking about an expansion, he'd have given an example. If he was, no harm done, you're correct. If not, you're still correct, it just so happens Hockeyman and I are aswell.
    Last edited by Heirodule; January 31st, 2011 at 17:06.
    Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts