Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Q: An Independent Character attached to a unit that is reacting to being assaulted, or making a pile-in move, must move before other friendly models to attempt to get in base contact with an enemy. What happens if the Independent Character is blocked from getting to enemy models by friendly models around him?
A: If it is possible to move friendly models out of the way to make space for the Independent Character then they must move first. Followed by the Independent Character and finally the rest of the unit can move. If the Independent Character is still unable to make it into base contact he must move as close to the enemy as possible.
What is meant by "out of the way"?
To be sure, you read this as the models that are blocking the IC from getting 'stuck-in' should be moved first then the IC, then the rest of the Unit?
or Do you read this as the models that would allow the IC to get into BtB should be moved first then the IC, then the remaining Unit.
This is the way I'm reading it:
Normally, moving a squad with an IC in it into assault goes like this:
1) Move IC into btb with enemy
2) Move squad into btb with enemy
If there are friendly units in the way, it changes to this:
1) Move models that are preventing the IC from reaching btb into btb with the enemy in such a way it does not block the IC from reaching btb
2) Move IC into btb with enemy
3) Move rest of squad as per normal assault rules.
That's what I wanted them to say in the FAQ Magus. That's how I want to read it, but you know how peeps get. They mention thier intentions for ICs in CC in the fluff but need some clarification in the RAW. Not sure this helped, but might have gave another question from a question. It's how I been wanting to play it for awhile.
So you can hide your IC during your initital charge but not after that. Sounds good to me!
Is that what you intended?
I think that *most* players would want to get their bad-ass IC into Btb in the initial charge, particularly if there are special rules like Furious Charge involved. However, it doesn't specify that the IC has to get into Btb on the initial charge. It DOES say though that he has to be the first one to move in in the Pile-In/Defenders react events.
So it would be legally permitted to deliberately block the IC out in the first charge by the positioning of the other models in the charging unit so that his base could not pass through any gaps (unless he happens to be the closest model at the start of the assault), but I personally would prefer to have my big high Initiative hitters getting their swing in first. Maybe a more protective attitude with Librarians and Chaplains would be appropriate since their Initiative rating has been reduced (why on earth did they do that???), but not someone like Lucius or Canis.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Any priest making it into B2B is going to get kicked in the head by every single model that can reach them.