Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Couple quick questions.
1) I play IG, I have a squad of Veterans in front of my tank does this confer a save? Can't seem to find where itd be listed.
2) I have a block of 30 Infantry with a Platoon Squad inside it like this:
3) My brother plays 'Nids. He has 25mm in front of 40mm in front of 60mm. Does this work also? Thanks!
Armies: 40k: Imperial Guard, Orks Fantasy: Skaven
Cover for vehicles is funky. You need to have the tank 50% "obscured" in order to get the 4+ save - less and there's no save. I don't have the models to measure, but it probably depends a lot on the LOS of the attacker.
You can get a cover save from an enveloped unit, so for #2, yes.
You can have situations where units have successive layers of cover, as you say. It's a little harder since your large units only get cover if they've actually GOT cover - so it's possible that they might not be masked from all the units that can shoot at the big guy in the back. Also, it doesn't take much elevation to prevent line of sight to the units in back from being drawn through the front units.
Finally, while masking units with units sounds like a neat idea, keep in mind that they've still got to move around each other, and can't move through each other. if your cover unit's too large, you might have trouble advancing the guys in back around it when the time comes. Nothing worse than a Carnifex that can't assault because there's too many gaunts in the way and it can't get within 2"!
Just adding to the sound advice given by AvatarADV, it matters whether the Nids are MCs or not. MCs use similar rules to vehicles to determine cover saves or not. This rule is effectively "true LoS" and requires 50% coverage or they get no save.
Smaller/normal sized units follow the more general cover rule, whereby true LoS is not applied, and they will get cover if 50%+ of shooters have to fire through another unit to reach 50%+ of the target unit.
In the specific case of overlapping/enveloped units, they will not both give the other a cover save. The closer unit has no cover.
i.e. in your PCS example, the PCS gets a save, but no matter how many of the infantry blob are behind the PCS, the blob will not receive a cover save. Also note that the PCS will gift a cover save to every opposing unit (non-MC, non-Vehicle) that they fire at, due to firing through their own covering blob.
Last edited by krytie; February 1st, 2011 at 12:04. Reason: atrocious speeling ;)
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.