Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is there a rule that prevents or allows the use of multiple codexes in a single army? Please point me to a rule book page number, errata, faq etc.
So, in a game should I allow or disallow a multiple codex army?
in this particular edition, as far as i can remember it does not state it anywhere that you can/cannot do that. But in a normal pick up game i would honestly say no (for friendly reasons), if you have regular opponents then i cannot see it as a problem as long as you ask them first. In previous editions you could do it using the 'detachments' rule as it was called. To be perfectly frank the question is why do you want to do it in the first place? it makes for more work on one side and can lead to balance isuues. If you have multiplayer games then most of the time it is 'you are on his team' so you just deploy however many points of your army you have been asked to play with.Is there a rule that prevents or allows the use of multiple codexes in a single army?
Multi-Codex armies (sometimes termed "Allies") can only be played by personal agreement or "house rule" in a local game or tournament.
The main rules refer to the Oraganisation Chart (singular) for legal army composition. This is written in the "Oraganising a Battle" section of the BRB, p86. Under the sub-headings "Force Organisation" (p86) and Force Organisation Chart (p87) it states that each army should be created using its own Codex, and the min/max restrictions are stipulated in the FOC.
Extrapolating from this, i would say that if more than one FOC is used, then more than one army is being created. Any game (whether 2v1 / mixed Codex/ non-FOC / uneven points) can be legal, but must have the agreement of all players involved. ie, no-one can force you into a game.
Having said all that, the only real objection i would have to a mixed army/FOC game would be if i felt the opponent was deliberately power-gaming --- taking the best units from different armies to craete one uber-army, or to offset weaknesses in the indivisual armies. (Even so, it could still be a fun game... Just gives you even more joy/respect when you win or even tie the game against the odds.
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.
The notable exceptions are the daemon hunters and witch hunters books - these were written with their own integral (if now very outdated) cross codex rules and can be used with marine or guard armies in a single FoC.
Except for an Apocalypse game, I have not mixed codexes. Even then I used either a Daemon or Witch Hunter setup. So I thought as I had been taught that this could not be done per the rules.
But when asked, I could not prove it.
Thank you for the replies. It cleared up my thinking.