Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I recently played a game where striking scorpions used out flank when they arrived from reserve. We were curious to what the limitations to out flank were. The way he did it seemed beardy. Is there a minimum distance he would have to be from enemy models? He deployed exactly one inch away from enemy models. Can you "stack" them when you deploy? They came onto on his opponents long side, with only one model touching the short side he chose to deploy on. He claimed that when they deploy they can move full movement as they were deploying so it was ok. His opponent claimed he had to fully deploy his models before they moved. Was the eldar player clever or abusing rules? The rulebook did not seem too clear about it.
So you're asking about deploying from out-flanking? The unit arrives just as it would in reserves it "must move ONTO" the board as if it had just been placed on the OUTSIDE with its base touching. Imagine that a point on the edge of the board is the models base, from that single point they can move 6" (scorpions yeah?). He doesn't deploy and then move, he just moves on.
Hope that helps.
If someone helps you, rep them.
In a votewar you don't vote on a single match, you vote on the entire round. Got that?
The models must come onto the table entirely from the table edge they are entering from (rulebook page 94 does not let you do otherwise). They still follow all the normal movement rules that apply to that unit type.
Models cannot be "stacked" ever as a model may not occupy the space of another model (rulebook page 11, 'models in the way').
So while the unit cannot be within 1" of an enemy, there is nothing stopping a unit (when outflanking) moving onto the board and shooting/assaulting should they normally be able to.
In short, so long as the leading edge of all the bases of the infantry was within 6" of the table edge they're coming in from, they're fine, even if they're riiiight back near the opponent's long table edge. None of them can move any further than that during the movement phase, though. (Of course, they can then shoot and then assault another 6"... and if they're a different unit type they can come in with their full move, so a fast skimmer moving flat out when coming in from the flank could move as far as 24" from the table edge. Or a biker unit could move 12" and then assault 6" more.)
Outflanking can be pretty nasty that way. If you've got a unit within 12" of the left or right table edge, an outflanking infantry unit CAN come in and assault them in the same turn (assuming you're not in cover that slows them down, etc.) It's very powerful in that it reduces your options for stashing weak or unprotected units in the corners. However, having to come in from reserve means it might not get there until it's too late... and there are few things sadder than an outflanking unit of Genestealers who come in from the wrong table edge and never reach combat just because it's too far away.
Thanks for the clarifications all