Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a short question, as you know, standing behind an unit confers a 4+ cover save on both sides.
But what if you are within 2" of said unit?
let me explain. Say i position 10 scarabs bases in a horizontal line, and behind them, 10 warriors in a horizontal line. Theses warriors would all be within 2" of the scarabs.
If i fire at enemy models over these scarabs from the warriors, would they still get a cover save? i know in the rulebook it says that unless your within 2" of cover the enemy gets it as well as you, but would, in this case, the scarabs, or really any model, count as 'cover'?
Any replies would be appreciated.
The enemy would get no cover saves what-so-ever as shooting is done on true line of sight and the scarabs are not tall enough to block the line of sight of the warriors/enemy. Now if you were firing a unit of warriors through a friendly unit of warriors then the enemy would get a cover save.
There's a big difference between firing through a friendly unit at the enemy and firing out of area terrain at the enemy. With the former, it doesn't matter how far away your two units are from each other, it's the number of models blocking LOS that counts. With the latter, it's the distance through the cover which matters. I can have a pair of Broadsides standing 1" into area terrain/in a building. They get a cover save because they are in cover, but they do not give a cover save to anything they shoot at because they are not >=2" into that cover.
As for the example you gave: TheShad0w is spot on. The Scarabs are too small to give a cover save to the enemy as the Necron unit would have clear LOS above them. Unless of course they were mounted on their bases in such a way that they were flying high....!
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
So it is possible that the Scarabs may block line of sight if they are elevated by terrain or if the warriors were in a valley or even if the Scarabs were up in a Ruin and to defeat this their line of sight must be completely clear.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.