Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've never come across this power until quite recently, but my question is can you draw the line for JOTWW through models in the same unit (or other friendly units ) as the Rune Priest. I checked the FAQ but couldn't find anything.
My argument would be that because it's a shooting attack you can't aim it so the first model touched by the line is a friendly model. But whenever I questioned it the guy said, 'because the Rune Priest is in the unit he counts as being able to draw line of sight through the squad and is able to target my models, the fact that his men suffer from the effects as well as mine is the downside to placing the line through his men.
I've never been very good at explaining things like this so I included a diagram.
It's kind of a tough one, and I see many other threads on different sites asking the same question.
A couple of things I noticed. It does not actually say you pick a specific target, nor does it provide any limitation on hitting friendly models.
I would use the Eldar Vibro-Cannon as an example. It draws a 36" straight line in any direction. All models it touches are hit. GW did provide an FAQ stating it can indeed hit friendly models and even models in CC.
Flamer/template weapons specifically state you may not cover any friendly models with the template.
At the beginning of turn 1, I spray my opponent's army with the bacon flavored spray. Then I unleash my Boston Terrier Squiggoth who then devours their entire bacon flavored army! There is no defense against her cuteness! All are doomed!
No. Jaws is a psychic shooting attack, thus you need to follow all the rules for a shooting attack. That means the line cannot touch any of your own models legally, whether from the same unit or a different unit.
As pointed out by realitycheque, there is a precedent and that is the flamer template. It cannot even touch the models in the same unit as the firer.
If he really want to get technical, then by the SW FAQ, the first model touched becomes the target. If the line is touching your own model, then the RP is targeting his own unit, which he cannot technically do. There is a big difference between having LOS through your own unit and targeting your own unit.
Last edited by jy2; March 16th, 2011 at 05:42.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
There is no rule which prevents the line through passing through your own models, and the flamer doesn't really serve as a precedent--JotWW isn't a template weapon and there's no reason to pretend that it's subject to the template weapon rules--however jy2 is correct in noting that the first model through which the line passes dictates the target of the attack, which means that it can't pass through one of your own models first (you can't target your own units, even though you can hurt them.)
As long as the line passes through an enemy model before any of your own, you're good.
Once again, the conservative, sandwich-heavy portfolio pays off for the hungry investor!