Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Went to workshop a while ago and looked at the new grey knights codex and meant to ask this question, the new vindicare assassin has an ammo type for his rifle that can remove an invulnerable save for the whole game, but what if this is done to ghazghkull when he calls his Waaagh! his normal save becomes invulnerable, so my question is, would he have a save at all if this is done? obviously he would have his normal save return to normal after that turn, but for that turn would he be able to save it at all as it's replaced by the invulnerable?
It removes an inv save given by a piece of wargear - so in the case of ghazghkull nothing would happen. Likewise the round bounces off other assassins (dodge save), sisters of battle, daemons, c'tan, the sanguinor, tau shield drones, tyranid zoanthropes, and ... well pretty much everything except space marines and eldar/dark eldar HQs.
Does it remove "an" invulnerable save or "all" invulnerable saves? Specifically I'm thinking about DE Archons with shadowfields(2++) and ghostplate armor(4+/6++).
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
It removes invul saves granted by war gear. So storm shields, iron halo's. Shadowfield I believe counts as armour so it would not remove that invul save, otherwise you would be able to remove a termi's 5+ invul save.
But of course after taking a look at a codex or two I notice that armour is underneath the wargear heading, so go ahead and remove shadowfield!
Last edited by Wakkawakka; March 28th, 2011 at 20:35.
So would this apply to Eldar Rune Armor (Farseers, Warlocks)? It's listed under "wargear."
Isn't Ghazghkull armour save considered wargear since it comes from his Mega Armour? If so then the invulnerable save would be ignored meaning no save whatsoever.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
I'm of the opinion that ghazghkull would still get his inv save. The shield breaker rule states that "the model loses any inv save granted by items or wargear". Now, the way I see it, is that Ghazgkulls invulnerable save is being granted by his "Prophet of the Waaagh!" special rule in his entry, which is neither an item or piece of wargear.
The Tau shield drones is interesting. I personally dont think if you hit a crisis suit that has drones they would be removed. Sure, the drone is a piece of wargear but its the drone that has the inv save, not the crisis suit. The crisis suit is in no way granted any invulnerable save from the drone, only the drone can use the save, and only when the wound is allocated to the drone.
Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)