Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
You know hwne you think you know a rule and then you actually re-read it and go, oh I didn't know that. Well that happened last night with the Deepstrike rule. Here's the problem:
Models arriving via deepstrike treat difficult terrain as dangerous terrain. They also count as having moved.
Does this mean that unit's arriving via deepstrike have to take a dangerous terrain test a la Jump Packs landing in buildings, even if they have not hit impassable terrain/enemy/friendly unit? Which of course results in Mishap Table usage.
The reason I am asking is that the SW Rune priest, I think, has something which makes all deepstriking units within 24" treat all terrain as difficult/dangerous and was kind of wondering what the point would be, as Mishaps can only happen on Impassable terrain not dangerous or difficult terrain according to P.95 of the rule book.
Thanks in advance for the help.
Just off the top of my head, but if you land in difficult/dangerous terrain from a Deep Strike, you don't roll on the mishap table. You only do the mishap if landing in impassable terrain (as well as the other criteria like off the table or inch away from an enemy etc.). They do need the dangerous terrain test though, but that's only for the individuals that would be landing in the difficult/dangerous terrain.
I think... Someone with the rulebook in front of them could probably confirm.
Just to recap (and you are correct)
Rules p95: Models arriving via deep strike treat difficult terrain as dangerous terrain.
Mishaps only happen if:
1. you can't deploy all of the models in the unit (due to impassable terrain, being on top of a friendly model, or within 1" of an enemy model)
2. If they would land off the table.
The runepriest power is 'Tempest's Wrath' and all skimmers, jetbikes, jump troops, Deep Strike, that end their move within 24" count all terrain as difficult and dangerous. No this does not cause a mishap, but if they deepstrike in open terrain, it now counts as difficult/dangerous (thus causing a dangerous terrain check). And for those units that can assault after Deep Striking, they have to roll for the assault move due to the difficult terrain.
At the beginning of turn 1, I spray my opponent's army with the bacon flavored spray. Then I unleash my Boston Terrier Squiggoth who then devours their entire bacon flavored army! There is no defense against her cuteness! All are doomed!
Cheers for that guys, I knew the mishap part of it, but nowhere does it mention about taking the Dangerous Terrain test. Only that they count it as dangerous terrain, so we just have to assume that it is implied? Just wondered then if a RUne Priest takes Tempests Wrath then would a Demons army that deploys via deepstrike within 24" would have to take a dangerous terrain check?
It's not implied. It just is.
Dangerous Terrain causes models/units to take a Dangerous Terrain Test. Therefore if you're told that something is Dangerous Terrain, you do what those rules tell you. (Take the test.)
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes