Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Basically my question boils down to can a unit of banshees disembark form their wave serpent run then assault in the same term.
The question arises form a game where an opponent did this to me. Before the charge I said something to the effect of "hold the phone, is the wave serpent an assault vehicle?", he answered "no", so i said he couldn't assault me. He was of the opinion that with fleet he can assault because he ran.
He;s a good friend of mine and we often play against each other so i wanted to make sure i wasn't cheating him.
What do you guys think?
Fleet only means that he can charge after he runs, but all other restrictions still apply. Basically, if the serpent didn't move, then he gets his 2" disembark and he can move, shoot/run, and assault as normal, but if it did move (any kind of movement including turning), then he gets his 2" disembark and can only shoot/run provided that he didn't go flat out (ie not over 12").
40k: Silver Angels of Our Martyred Lady 7/2/3 - Daemons of the Great Squiggle! 3/1/0
Fantasy: Windhost of Athel'Loren 2/0/0 - Daemons of Another Great Squiggle! 0/0/0
Warmahordes: Legion of Everblight (Absylonia)
ikbuh got it right but if you need something to convince your friend, this exact question is answered in the rulebook FAQ, page 5 top right:
Q: Can a unit with the Fleet special rule assault after
disembarking from a transport that has already moved that
A: No, it cannot. The Fleet rule simply removes the
prohibition of assaulting after running.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
Can't believe I missed the FAQ *faceplam*
If the Wave Serpent had moved first then the Banshees couldn't have assaulted anyway, regardless of Fleet or whatever, because the Wave Serpent is an enclosed vehicle.
As far as the FAQ is concerned, it's a bit poorly worded because you can assault out of an open-topped vehicle even if it moves (P.70 BRB line 6ff of "Open-topped transport vehicles"). The wording in the FAQ kind of gives the impression - well, to me anyway! - that there is no exception for any vehicle. So for example Dark Eldar units with the Fleet rule could come bouncing out of their Raider (I assume it's still open-topped?) after it moves 12", run and then assault due to the 'Fleet' and 'open-topped' rules.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"