Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, so I was playing agaisnt some grey knights yesterday with my friend daemons and there was a bit of an arguement between me and the other guy, the combat was between skulltaker and some bloodcrushers and draigo and some paladins so none of us want ourdeathstar unit to die, so the problem was that when he rolled his attacks against skulltaker two of his dice got cocked on some terrain so I let him re roll them and they still missed, now Grey Kngihs have preffered enemy against Daemons so he tried to re-roll the ones he'd missed because of that rule, I told him that he couldn't re-roll a re-roll but he said that "cocked dice" don't count as re-rolls, could someone clear this up? Do cocked dice count as the one re-roll you can have per dice roll or can you re-roll a cocked dice if you have a rule/ piece of equipment that lets you re-roll your attacks?
Cocked dice do not count as re-rolls, much in the same way as if the dice had fallen off the table. So he rolled the cocked dice again and misses. Preferred enemy allows you to reroll misses and so he gets to roll them again.
this one is subject to interpretation, but around my area, cocked dice are treated as basically an incomplete roll. That is to say, they never really had a legitimate result, so you just do it over, ignoring the first, failed attempt. This applies whether they were misses or hits (or passed/failed tests, etc...) - just ignore the cocked result and roll those again.
If he's just picking the cocked dice that were misses, he's cheating - it's important that this is treated as an all or nothing deal.
In other words, get the dice their own arena of play completely divorced from the battle field.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Its absolutely shenanigans to claim that a second roll for a cocked die is a "re-roll". While it could be called a re-roll in that it is a second roll, it does not fit the context of what the rules are calling for.
Special rules usually call on us to re-roll a successful or failed test of some sort. A cocked die is neither.
In the example, there is a re-roll of a cocked die and then a re-roll of a failed result. One can easily argue that a cocked die was re-rolled once and then a miss was re-rolled. The same re-roll was not done twice.
Now, stemming from that, one could argue that you may not re-roll again if the same die is cocked twice. Except then you would discount the die roll, which the rules do not provide for as we need to see either result. Also, in some cases a dicounted die would effectively be a miss, yet you did not meet the criteria for a miss. Basically, don't create situations not covered in the rules.
Consider that a little train of logic to use if someone tries to pull such shenanigans again.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes