Can You Have Dh And Wh In An Ig Or Sm Base Army? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member Dragoonman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I didn't see anything in the codexes that said that I couldn't.
    Could someone please clear this up for me?
    Thanx


    Good strategists seize opportunities, great ones make their own.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    i doubt u can since demonhunters usualy fight wen ther is mass demonic activity and wichhunters fight heretics. they wouldnt fight together because if a ther was a heretic army, wich hunters r involved; but wen they involv demons the demonhunters get involved and the wichhunters stop. demonhunters might fight with xenofighters but not with wich hunters, since ther job can be superceded.

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  4. #3
    Member Dragoonman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Well actually, WH hunts psykers, which are easily followed by daemons. I have a DH/WH army. I just want to know if the other two imp armies can have both as allies.
    I wanted rule wise, not fluff wise.

    Good strategists seize opportunities, great ones make their own.

  5. #4
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Rule wise, ANY imperial army can take WH *OR* DH as allies, but never both. You can never, under any circumstances, have more than two army lists in your army, so no WH/DH/IG or WH/DH/SM (same goes for AH when it comes out).

  6. #5
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    Yes you can include WH AND DH in another army.

    Codex: Witch Hunters, page 25, in the section titled 'Using Witch Hunters as Allies' it states WH cannot ally with any force that uses any other type of ally with the exception of separate detachments and units from other Ordos of the Inquisition.

    So yes you can include units of WH and Demon Hunters in another core army. The armies that can have WH and/or DH as allies is also listed on page 25.

    Also in the same block in both CodexH and Codex:WH you will see that each army is listed as one that can include the other as allies. So you could even have a mixed force with DH and WH.

    What you cannot do is induct marines into a WH force, then ally that force with an IG army.

  7. #6
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Well sh*t. I guess I need to buy the WH codex sometime soon then, no? They went and changed the rules on me.

  8. #7
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    wow so u can include both in an army. well ther u have it lern something new everyday. well here u lern maybe five things a day...

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    DH FAQ ....

    Daemonhunters may not ally with any detachment that uses any other kind of ally.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    southend-on-sea
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    This is becoming confusing! Can you or not, because I have been wondering for a while with a new army in the works.

    If anyone who knows all the facts could sum it all up, that would be brilliant, or decide umong yourselves.
    Won/Drawn/Lost (Only counting games 1500pts and over)

    Space Marines -- Emperor's Legion (3/0/0)
    Tyranids (2/0/0)
    Orks (0/0/0) --Not Yet Ready--

  11. #10
    Senior Member isitused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x3)

    Army = Using the main force organization from the codex.
    Detachment = unit/units taken from a codex not belonging to the core codex

    I think their trying to say you can field the hunters units as allies for another army as long as that army does not take allies from any other force.

    You are allowed to take one type of hunters force as allies for the other, so long as the main force does not bring along another army.

    The exception would be any inducted forces from the main codex as they would count as coming from the main book and not restrict the use of the other hunters as allies.

    So
    Witchhunters + Daemon hunters = (Y)
    Space marines + Witchhunters + Daemon hunters = (N)
    Deamon hunters + (Inducted) Marines + Witchhunters = (Y)

    I hope that’s right.
    -GM
    I put the Laughter back into Slaughter.
    Sons of Prometheus <click>
    Children of Murder <clic>

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts