Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just if anyone could explain for me rending rule for thunderwolves mounts. As example i will use my Wolf guard battle leader mounted on thunderwolf. The rule says that all tht attack rolled on 6 got rending rule if i use weapon without any special abbilities...so if im correct my w.guard cant be equiped with wolf claws and deal rending hits (with rerolls on miss or hit)...but can i for example use frost weapon and still recive +1 str (and count on rending hits if any happens)?
Once again sry 4 rusty english
My interpretation is that if you are equipped with a standard close-combat weapon, you get rending. If you equip any other CC weapon, you don't get rending. (+1 strength is a special ability the weapon has).
From the Space Wolves FAQ:
"Q. Does a Thunderwolf Cavalry model with a special close
combat weapon (eg a thunder hammer) still have rending
A. No. The description of the Thunderwolf mount on page
62 says that it ʻ… has the Rending special rule in close
combat with any attack that does not use a special close
combat weaponʼ. This applies to Thunderwolf Cavalry as
well (and Canis Wolfborn, for that matter)."
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Also, a Frostblade/Frostaxe is a power weapon anyway regardless of its boosted Strength value, so you still wouldn't get Rending as it's counted in the list of "special weapons" in the rulebook because of its being a power weapon.
Personally I would rather rely on the destructive ability of a power weapon than take my chances on rolling 6s for Rending.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Ok i get that now, thx :] . Theres another thing worries me, can i mount my Wolf guard Battleleader on Thunderwolf and take 'Saga of a hunter'? Belowe summary in SW wargear section theres writen "cannot be taken by unit equiped in jump packs or riding bikes"....in Sagas chapter of SW codex first line for using this saga it is writen: "Infrantry only..." So can i use that saga on Thunderwolf? (i dont think so but had to ask anyway XD )
Check the rulebook and FAQ. Does the battleleader count as beasts when using a Thunderwolf Mount? If yes, then no he can't take the saga.