Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so I know that ordnance 1 means that whatever is under the hole is hit with AP 1 correct? Where does it say that in the rulebook? Someone I was playing against said the 1 meant the number of attacks kind of like heavy 3 or what have you. I know it means AP 1 but in can't find it in the rules, and it costed me my +1 on the pen chart.
Can anyone help me out so I can point it out next time this issue comes up?
Thanks in advance!
I'm pretty sure your opponent was right on this one. Having the hole in the center of the blast marker over your target just means that you hit with full strength against vehicles, but the weapon's AP stays the same.
There is one weapon, however, where you are correct, so that might be what's got you mixed up. The necron monolith's Particle Whip hits things under the hole with AP1 (or maybe, 2 cant remember), but as far as I know its the only blast weapon in the game that changes AP depending on where the hole is.
Edit: and the "1" in "Ordinance 1" does refer to the number of shots, just like for "Assault 2" or "Heavy 6".
Last edited by Bugs_n_Orks; April 28th, 2011 at 20:48. Reason: spelling
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
In agreement with Bugs_n_Orks - The AP of a weapon does not change in anyway depending on what part of the template you this a model with.
The only thing the hole is used for in the general rulebook (discounting specific weapon systems with special rules as detailed in codexes) is determining whether you hit a vehicle at full strength or half strength.
'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.
That's the thing, I play necrons and I'm talking about the particle whip. Where does it say that?
In the rules for the particle whip.
Oh wow, I guess I over looked it lol. Thanks!
Don't forget though that you can't use the Particle Whip's blast marker to "snipe" a character or a specific model. All wounds caused by the marker are still able to be allocated throughout the unit by your opponent, but one of them still has to be an AP1 wound (Necron FAQ).
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"