Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Bjorn Fellhanded has a power called "Ancient Tactician" that is less than clear to me. Maybe it is simple, but maybe not, but a little clarification will help. The power allows the owner of Bjorn to reroll to pick his deployment zone, but does that also allow him in effect to be also finding out if he goes first as well? I just read the rule to pick his deployment zone and that's it. My opponent says since you pick your deployment first, you therefore go first and my search of the internet seems to agree with him. But if this is the case, why wouldn't it simply say in the codex that he then could go first in the game as well? It seems such a simple thing to add if it is indeed the case. Really, couldn't you pick your deployment zone, gaining an advantage in terrain and still go last in turns?
The way I read it, I tend to agree with what your opponent said. If you choose your deployment zone you go first. Bjorn helps this, so if you don't want to go first, then don't use him! Also, GW seems to have "clarity" issues on more than one rule.
The Wolf time is upon us!
Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar
I'm kinda surprised that a clarification isn't in the Space Wolves errata. It seems like a simple thing; just say " reroll to choose your deployment zone and therefore go first". It seems so simple, so why does it have to be difficult? I generally play Daemons, so I really don't care if the Space Wolves go first.
*moved to the Rules Help section*
Spambot kill tally. . .337
"Ancient Tactician" was 'errata-ed' in the SW FAQ, and now reads thus:It doesn't give you the opportunity to change deployment zone, since you haven't at this stage actually decided who starts where until Bjorn's owning player has attempted to beat his opponent's roll, should he need to. It's only after the initial roll and any re-roll given by "Ancient Tactician" has been completed, thus deciding who is going first, that deployment zones are chosen.Originally Posted by SW FAQ 2011
It is advantageous to use this "Ancient Tactician" special rule for a couple of reasons: the obvious one is to be able to choose your deployment zone first, thus giving you the ability to go first. This is particularly important if you are fielding Njal Stormcaller in your army, as going first means that you get to use his Lord of Tempests rule. Going second means you don't.
The second reason is that it gives you two bites at the attempt of going first, should you lose the initial roll-off. If you fail to beat the opponent's roll using the Ancient Tactician rule, you can always try again with "Seize the initiative".
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
It's a bit crazy; when we had the discussion about this power, I asked my opponent to check his FAQ to see if this issue was in there. After a few minutes of looking, he couldn't find it. I looked yesterday and there it is in plain writing that it can be used to determine the player who goes first. Go figure. Thanks for everyones help.