Feel No Pain and AP - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    LO Zealot SJPhillyVT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,411
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    248 (x5)

    Feel No Pain and AP

    I'm sorry if this has been discussed but the search function is painfully slow.

    I was listening to the Eternal Warriors podcast and they rain into a rules problem. So the Feel No Pain USR specifically states in its description that the FNP save cannot be taken where no armor save can ever be taken, then lists examples like power weapons. But it also specifically states it cannot be taken against AP 1 or AP 2 weapons.

    So the question is, can FNP saves be taken against wounds caused by a weapon with an AP above 2 that would pierce the model's normal armor? For example, if the model has a 4+ save and is wounded by an AP 4 weapon, can the model take its FNP save? The rule states it cannot be taken against wounds where no armor save can ever be taken, so I would lean toward the model not getting FNP, but I can also see it the other way.

    Is there a discussion or a FAQ for this?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    You are equating the application of AP with the concept of "no armor saves". They are not the same thing.

    They explicitly mean any wound which comes from a source which never allows an armor save. An AP 3 or 4 wound would allow an armor save to a model with 2+ armor, so it cannot be said that it NEVER allows one.

    You must remember that the guidelines for the negation of FNP are contingent upon the attack that causes the wound, not any parameter of the model taking the wound.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    Yes this has been shot down several times in the rules questions. Some units have FNP and only a 6+ armour save such as orks with medics etc and they get FNP against bolters. Some units have no armour save and FNP such as plague bearers and they get FNP saves.

    The rule where weapons that alow no saves are not alowed a FNP save is to include weapons such as wind of chaos/breath of chaos etc or wounds from dangerous terrain tests etc. All these alow no armour save but do not techmically have a AP value.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts