Dedicated Transports - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Dedicated Transports

    If in my army list i have purchaced a dedicated transport for a squad, let's say a Drop Pod for a tactical squad, can i choose not to deploy the squad in the transport?
    If for example during a tournament i come across a game of multiple objectives, can i choose instead of Drop Podding the whole squad to split it and deploy them close to the objectives and leave to Drop Pod in the carry bag?

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,390
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    430 (x8)

    Drop pods can be deployed empty - it's in the space marine FAQ from the GW site.

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by spartiatis View Post
    and leave to Drop Pod in the carry bag?
    The Drop pod would still be deployed at some point via Deepstrike.

    The pod is still useful anyway. You can block enemy movement or provide cover from enemy shooting with it. At minimum, they have to go around it until it's destoyed, and even then it becomes Difficult and Dangerous Terrain as a wreck. Make them waste AT shots at it.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    But you have to take the Drop Pod as a dedicated transport for a squad don't you? I guess you can not take it just so..

    Can the same be done with Rhinos?
    Deploy the squad on the field and an empty Rhino?

  6. #5
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by spartiatis View Post
    Deploy the squad on the field and an empty Rhino?
    Yep.

    They don't have to deploy inside their Dedicated Transport. It's just that they are the only unit that may do so.


    As an aside, an empty Rhino is kinda pointless. Taking a Razorback for half the squad to use or sit and shoot on it's own, that could be useful.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  7. #6
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Yes, that's fine. But you have to deploy them as they are still kill points.
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts