Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, this has come up with me and my friends alot, the most obvious time was when i had my command squad in a bastion equivalent and my friends genestealers wanted to assault them, but he first ran into the building using his fleet rule and assaulted them from that saying that i don't get to assault first due to them being in cover at the same time, but surely, what is the point of assault grenades if quite often you can run into cover and assault me there?
so here is my question, if you don't have assault grenades and you 'fleet' into cover, do i go first if he assaults me?
Assaulting in to cover I believe only applies on the charge in the assault move. But the question remains, after running, was over 50% of his squad in cover? At least 50% of the squad needs to be in cover to count as cover. So at the time of charging he'd need half the squad in that cover.
What I'm not sure of is if both squads are in the same cover, do they use the Initiative rules of does the defenders go first since they are "in" cover? I guess if it's area terrain the defenders go first, but if it's ruins or a wall or something, the Initiative would take over if they're both in the same cover.
The only thing that determines if the charging unit strikes at I1 is if they had to make a Difficult or Dangerous Terrain test for the charge move. You being in or out of cover no longer affects that.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
Yep, basically it was played wrong and he still cheated (to put it bluntly), even if you'd been in a ruin, it matters not that he is in there too, since he would still have to make a difficult terrain test to charge you, no assault grenades means he goes at I1.
If you have to roll a difficult/dangerous terrain test, and you don't have assault grenades you hit at I1. Ruins are considered area terrain and therefore difficult.so here is my question, if you don't have assault grenades and you 'fleet' into cover, do i go first if he assaults me?