Force Weapons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Force Weapons

  1. #1
    LO Zealot Farseer Macleod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Isle of Lewis
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x4)

    Force Weapons

    Okay so a Force Weapon can be activated when a model takes an unsaved wound from a Force weapon and if the phychic test is passed the model suffers an instant death wound, that much is clear but heres my question,

    Does the unsaved wound become one that inflicts instant death or does that model get to make an invunerable save to prevent being instantly killed as treating it as an additional hit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    It becomes one that inflicts instant death. You don't get two saves against the same wound.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    Correct. The unsaved wound has already occurred, and the psychic test is taken to turn what would normally only cause a single wound into a model-remover (except where things like Eternal Warrior is concerned, of course). Since the psychic test which effectively turns the power weapon into a force weapon does not actually cause a wound, no save of any kind could ever be taken against it anyway.

    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Farseer Macleod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Isle of Lewis
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x4)

    Thanks for the confirmation.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Something to point out - if you are using Grey Knights and you choose to make your attacks strength 5 using hammerhand and you are fighting multiple wound models (or a character), you can not then activate your force weapons to kill each model that takes a wound; even if you have a brotherhood banner. You have already used your 1 Psychic power for that turn. Of course if you have a character with that squad, he can activate his force sword.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Farseer Macleod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Isle of Lewis
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheShad0w View Post
    Something to point out - if you are using Grey Knights and you choose to make your attacks strength 5 using hammerhand and you are fighting multiple wound models (or a character), you can not then activate your force weapons to kill each model that takes a wound; even if you have a brotherhood banner. You have already used your 1 Psychic power for that turn. Of course if you have a character with that squad, he can activate his force sword.
    Point well made and I was aware of that thanks.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Alternatively, the Character can activate hammerhand - the entire unit benefits. At which point the squad is free to activate Force Weapons.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Or that

  10. #9
    Senior Member krytie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    38
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    ooft, that hurts

    Side question: Can psychic hoods be used to nullify the Force Weapon effect?
    There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.

  11. #10
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    The rule for a psychic hood says that you can use it after an enemy model within X inches of the Librarian passes a psychic test. There is no specification saying that it can only be used in situation X or situation Y, nor does it specify any particular phase of the game or particular type of psychic test performed by the enemy. So the answer has to be yes.

    The psychic hood rules I used for this answer are in the Space Marine Codex, P.56.


    E.
    "Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts