Main Rulebook FAQ Update - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Main Rulebook FAQ Update

    Credit to Bugs&Orks for bringing these to my attention.

    http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...ersion_1_3.pdf

    Major Points:

    -Dangerous Terrain is taken and suffered by individual models.

    -Multiple dice for penetration plus Rending means +D3 for each 6 rolled. Snipers got a bit better it seems.

    -Multiple uses of the same Psychic Power on the same unit stack. Looks like GK can double down on Hammerhand after all...

    -And as we just found out in another thread, it has been confirmed: One psyker may not try to cast the same power twice unless another rule allows it.

    Last edited by psichotykwyrm; June 13th, 2011 at 17:20.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    10 Purifiers cast hammerhand on themselves as does the librarian with them and then he also casts might of titan. Another librarian nearby then casts might of titan and quicksilver.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Cat View Post
    10 Purifiers cast hammerhand on themselves as does the librarian with them and then he also casts might of titan. Another librarian nearby then casts might of titan and quicksilver.
    While that might be a lot of focus into one unit, it's definitely legal now, and could be situationally useful. Certainly lessens the need for Daemon Hammers against monsters or units that you really want to hand out Instant Death to. (Nobs, Tyranid Warriors, Paladins, etc.)
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Regard the grenade bit in the rulebook faq does that mean that my space marine captain when assaulting a vehicle can use all 3 grenades (assuming he's bought melta bombs) to blow it up?

  6. #5
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheShad0w View Post
    Regard the grenade bit in the rulebook faq does that mean that my space marine captain when assaulting a vehicle can use all 3 grenades (assuming he's bought melta bombs) to blow it up?
    Attacking a vehicle with a grenade has its own set of rules: one attack being the main point.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Yes but the new faq regarding grenades says -

    Q: Can a model equipped with multiple grenades use all of them in the same Assault phase? (p36) A: Yes.
    So the question is as a Space Marine Captain has 3 attacks (4 on charge but only carries 3 grenade types assuming melta bombs are bought) does this mean that he use his Frag grenade, Krak and then Melta bomb in order to try and blow the tank up?

    Reason for asking is that ignoring CC with infantry/walkers in cover, grenades are only used to take vehicles out. Krak and Melta can not be used against infantry.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    94 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheShad0w View Post
    So the question is as a Space Marine Captain has 3 attacks (4 on charge but only carries 3 grenade types assuming melta bombs are bought) does this mean that he use his Frag grenade, Krak and then Melta bomb in order to try and blow the tank up?

    Reason for asking is that ignoring CC with infantry/walkers in cover, grenades are only used to take vehicles out. Krak and Melta can not be used against infantry.
    What psichotykwyrm was saying is that, in regard to using grenades to attack vehicles, the rules clearly say (pg. 63 BRB ) that "each model using them can only ever make one attack, regardless of the number of Attacks on their profile and any bonus attacks". So, you don't get to use your 3 attacks to use 3 different grenades; you get 1 attack to use 1 grenade.

    The reason for the FAQ was likely for those dealing with Walkers or who happen to be in CC with a Vehicle at the same time as other models.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Doesn't make sense. What does confirming that you can use all of your grenades in same assault phase have to do with being in cc with a walker/tank and another unit?

  10. #9
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    It is to allow a grey knight grand master, for example, to charge enemy infantry who are in cover and benefit from frag grenades and then make the enemy infantry -1 Toughness with his rad grenades then make the enemy unit suffer a random effect from psycotrope grenades.

    Against a walker in difficult terrain he could benefit from frag grenades to hit at initiative 5 and then use krak or meltabombs to get a single attack (hitting a walker on a 6).
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Ah, fair enough that makes sense. As usual GW are a bit cryptic.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts