Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a debate with my friend the other day when I attempted to use heroic Sacrifice on his dreadnought. He says that the their no way that it can affect vehicles and was purely intended for infantry.
Now the details for the move is,
Though hid body be rent and torn, the brotherhood champion (I was using crowe but that has no real effect on the rules.) reaches into his inner reserves to animate his failing form for one final fatal blow.
This power can be used when the character is removed as a casualty in either players assault phase.
If the phychic test is successful, the brotherhood champion immediately makes a single attack against one enemy model that was in base contact when he died. If this attack hits both models are removed as casualties with no save of any kind allowed.
It says nothing about vehicles, although the only vehicle that would really be in base contact would be a walker of somekind, Id never imagine to using it on landraider or anything even if I was somehow in base contact with it in the assault phase when he died.
What do you guys think, would it affect the dreadnought or not?
While it doesn't specify any type of model, it does say to remove as a casualty, which vehicles don't do. They Wreck or Explode. So the question then becomes whether the power can make them be removed as a casualty or not.
The use of the word casualty could mean an intention for non-vehicle targets, but the wording doesn't specify any unit type. So I say it could affect anything for the time being.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
While it may not have been intended for vehicles it does say Model and not Non-vehicle model or anything like that so yeah it should be able to removed a vehicle as well since vehicles are considered a model even a land raider should you be in those rare senarios the champion should die in base contact with one. Just another thing needed to be clarrified in the next FAQ update.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
While it's not the same fluff-wise, this is similar to Lukas the Trickster's "Last Laugh" rule. If Last Laugh goes off it says, "all models in base contact with him are removed from play as causalties". This was clarified in the SW FAQ:Since the wording is the same, "removed as causualties", and one can take out literally anything, RAW I think the other should as well.Originally Posted by SW FAQ
Sidenote: Does Titan's Herald let you re-roll your heroic sacrifice if you assaulted that turn?
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed