Drop Pods landing and units firing. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    LO Zealot Farseer Macleod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Isle of Lewis
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x4)

    Drop Pods landing and units firing.

    Was reading the rulebook FAQ and noticed an few FAQs that I didn't remember reading before.

    Q: Can permanently immobile vehicles, such as a Space
    Marine Drop Pod, shoot on the turn they arrive by
    Deep Strike? (p95)
    A: They, along with all other vehicles, count as having
    moved at cruising speed after arriving by deep strike
    and as such will not be able to shot that turn. The
    table, on page 73, tells you what how many weapons
    different types of vehicles moving at cruising speed can
    fire.

    Q: Does a unit being transported by a vehicle that has
    arrived by Deep Stike that turn also count as having
    arrived by Deep Strike? (p95)
    A: Yes.

    So reading these two FAQs got me thinking. Since the Drop pods count as moving at cruising speed does that mean that that a unit (not a walker) can drop pod disembark and shoot?
    I hadn't given it any thought as before now I didn't know what to consider the moving speed of a drop pod but it clearly states on page 86 that units embarked in a vehicle that move at cruising speed can not fire their weapons.
    My friends and I assumed that this was also the case for vehicles moving and disembarking their troops. If they move at cruising speed and disembarked that unit would be unable to fire but now this FAQ has thrown that into question since we always play it that units arriving via drop pod can disembark and fire.

    Can a unit in a transport that has moved at cruising speed disembark and still fire their weapons, even though they wouldn't be able to do so using the fire points on the vehicle?
    Does this mean that units arriving via drop pod are not able to fire?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Units that disembark from a transport going cruising speed (including ones from a Drop Pod) can disembark and fire. Page 66 says that units firing from a transport going cruising speed may not fire, but nothing about disembarking, which is covered on page 67, and says that a unit that disembarks after it's transport has moved may fire, with no restrictions other than (obviously) being able to disembark.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  4. #3
    404: Title not found Acarna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Leeds/Knoydart, UK
    Age
    24
    Posts
    2,845
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    194 (x7)

    Yes. As you said, units embarked in a transport that entered the battlefield via Deep Strike count as having deep striked themselves, and thus cannot move or assault but can fire counting as having moved. Disembarking from a transport that has moved at cruising speed also allows you to shoot counting as having moved, but not move or assault. It's not like these two rules combine and have a cumulative effect or anything, so units disembarking from a Drop Pod that has just deepstriked can shoot as though they have moved.

    ~ Acarna

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    The flip side of all this is that a dreadnought arriving via an assault drop pod can fire and assault when it arrives.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    It cannot assault. Fire yes, assault no. It counts as deep striking, and models that Deep Strike cannot assault. Nothing in their rules overrides this.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Stradius you clearly didn't read my post properly, i said "Assault Drop pod" - i.e the one that forgeworld do. Buy the book and use a standard plastic one.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Why would that be a flip side then? It has a special rule explicitly stating it may ignore the usual restriction - my post was intended to clear up any confusion about normal drop pods. More importantly, Forgeworld stuff is opponent-permission only, and generally banned from tournaments.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    ...and? I was just telling the OP about the assault drop pod.

  10. #9
    404: Title not found Acarna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Leeds/Knoydart, UK
    Age
    24
    Posts
    2,845
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    194 (x7)

    But that wasn't related to the question in any way at all.

    ~ Acarna

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Stevenage, Herts, Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Meh, as people have said you can fire once the unit leaves the drop pod and you can't fire the storm bolter or missile launcher as the drop pod is considered as moving 12".

    If you wanted to fire the drop pod then you could use a Black Templars army and their drop pods get to fire on the turn they arrive, plus you get to have both storm bolter and the missile launcher. Also to really annoy the other player if you have loads of drop pods then they are all turning up on turn 1, as they don't split their pods.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts