So my monolith got rammed... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Age
    30
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    So my monolith got rammed...

    by my friend's DE Raider equipped with shock prow, aethersails, and flickerfield. This is on the first turn and he moved 34 inches, rolled 6 for shock prow, and hit my Cron Monolith for (what we think) is a STR 14 hit. My Monolith got wrecked, his Raider took an equally massive hit but successfully rolled his invulnerable save. I was surprised and we both had a literally 10 minute laugh and finished up the game happy for another fun 40k game. But we wanted to know if this was legal, so we can take it to the local hobby store (I play DE also).

    Our question is... Can a hit go over str10?

    I know that in the rulebook it states that "Characteristics" cannot go over 10 but the ramming hit is neither a characteristic of a model or weapon so we are unsure. Also, the ramming section doesn't specifically address this situation.
    Thanks for your help. If this works, we both plan on including several more kamekaze Raiders in our future lists to deal with Landraiders, Monoliths, and the expensive heavy vehicles.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    It cannot. Strength is a characteristic, and (like every other characteristic) may never go over 10 unless otherwise explicitly stated that it may.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  4. #3
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Stradius would be correct, this is also covered in the main rulebook FAQ. Another thing to note is that since Monoliths are skimmers they may still avoid a ramming attacks on a 3+ like other skimmers.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts