Defensive Grenades and Counter Attack - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Defensive Grenades and Counter Attack

    Do defensive grenades negate a successful Counter-Charge?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Refer to page 36, under "Defensive Grenades", in the box-out.

    Defensive grenades do not just deny bonus attacks for charging. They deny the bonus charge attacks when assaulted. They only work when the model with them is charged. Counterattack does not actually count as charging, otherwise models with the rule would benefit from Furious Charge and such.

    (Unless you can find a FAQ item saying otherwise. I thought there might be one, but did not find it.)
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Age
    30
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Nope. You are correct. Defense grenades and a counter charge will never activate in an assault at the same time. Both are purely defensive uses only.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    well they did FAQ this

    Q: Can a model equipped with multiple grenades that
    have an effect when launching an assault, or being
    assaulted, use all of them in the same Assault phase?
    (p36)
    A: Yes. Note that you can still only use one grenade
    when attacking vehicles.

    FAQ Version 1.4

    So what scenario would you use both types of grenades in one assault phase besides assaulting something with Counter-Charge?

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cpeerson2000 View Post
    well they did FAQ this

    Q: Can a model equipped with multiple grenades that
    have an effect when launching an assault, or being
    assaulted, use all of them in the same Assault phase?
    (p36)
    A: Yes. Note that you can still only use one grenade
    when attacking vehicles.

    FAQ Version 1.4

    So what scenario would you use both types of grenades in one assault phase besides assaulting something with Counter-Charge?
    When you have frag grenades and something like RAD or Psychoke grenades out of the Greyknight codex.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Or if you charged a Walker in Cover. Frag to negate I penalty and Krak/Melta to attack the vehicle. (Or, similarly, if charged by a vehicle and possessing Krak/Defensive or similar)
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  8. #7
    LO Zealot SJPhillyVT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,411
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    248 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Stradius View Post
    Or if you charged a Walker in Cover. Frag to negate I penalty and Krak/Melta to attack the vehicle. (Or, similarly, if charged by a vehicle and possessing Krak/Defensive or similar)
    Isn't assaulting a Walker still assaulting a Vehicle though?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Stradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lost in the Grimdark
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x3)

    Yes, but I assume the ruling is there to stop you from making an S6 attack with kraks and then making an S4 attack with frags, not to prevent you from gaining the usual bonuses that you'd get from grenades.
    "The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
    "Innocentia Probat Nihil"

  10. #9
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    No rule book with me at the moment but we looked it up in a game recently. We found in the counterattack wording the phrase "exactly as if charging" so because of the word exactly we took that to mean that the defensive grenades did negate counterattack.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Age
    30
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Cat
    No rule book with me at the moment but we looked it up in a game recently. We found in the counterattack wording the phrase "exactly as if charging" so because of the word exactly we took that to mean that the defensive grenades did negate counterattack.
    Problem is that the defensive grenades only activate when charged by the opponent. Defensive grenades don't activate while you charge the opponent. Even if they have counter attack.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts