Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am currently running into a problem with the Judge at my LGS for 'ard boys. Was talking with him and he asked about the storm raven. When I showed him the codex he noticed that the dreadnought was carried by the grapple in the back. This leaved him to believe that the dreadnoughts that are "carried" (noticed not embarked) by the storm raven can only get out in the back arc on the vehicle. I am under the impression that when the dreadnought is being carried by a storm raven it counts as embarked and therefore able to get out from any of the access points on the vehicle (Front being the main one). Just wondering your guys thoughts on the situation.
I always saw it as embarked, due to there being no specific rulings on 'carrying' the dreadnought in any codex or the rulebook. 'Ard boys judges, at least around my area, are renowned for mistakes, like allowing a Tau player to have plasma rifles instead of pulse rifles (S6 AP2 vs S5 AP5 on 10 point troops!) and one that the same person is famous for, although I wasn't around to see it, was letting a kid use an ork stompa. In an eldar army. >.< People like that are so infuriating!
"Victory is sweet, blood is sweeter." - Aun'Vre
Yes, it would be embarked. However, for deploying from a Storm Raven you measure from the base anyway, not access points. By default, anything that falls under transport capacity is automatically considered embarked unless otherwise stated (I can't think of anything offhand that is like that, either).
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
The way he sees it is that because it is grappled to the back, it is not considered to be a passenger/embarked/ect. Nothing in the codex that I can find that explicitly says so, so his word goes unless I can find something. Already talked to him about measuring to/from the base part. No go for him either. But he is allowing the back half of the base or so to be the point where I can measure from.
Any specific examples for this situation I will be grateful for. Thanks in advance.
Found it! Grey knights faq. "what happens to an EMBARKED DREADNOUGHT that is immobility by the storm raven exploding. " the faq states that the dreadnought is embarked in the storm raven and therefore subject to all the rules of disembarking.
Also in Blood angels FAQ:
Q: What happens to an embarked Dreadnought that
suffers an Immobilized result from the hit when the
Stormraven it is embarked in Explodes? (p3
A: It is Destroyed as it is unable to disembark.
So they use the words embarked and disembark,
i dont see how he can argue with this.
If He is For me, Who shall stand against me