From the Rulebook FAQ Jan 2012
My Emphasis Above, my thought process below:Q: During the first turn of the game does a Scout move
count as the preceding Movement phase when working
out any saves from shooting, for example the 3+ cover
save from turbo-boosting, and the to hit rolls in
combat against vehicles? (p76)
This gives us the precedent to treat the Scouts rule's movement as the movement phase of the previous game turn.
Popping smoke during this move does not prevent your from shooting in the first turn and still claiming obscured status until the end of your opponents first shooting phase. This is due to the wording on Page 62 (Smoke Launchers) as preventing fire in the same turn as they were used, but expiring after the opponents next shooting phase.
Not the most logical of game mechanics, but RAW (unless its FAQed and been missed). Even then, someone using this tactic in a tourney may well lose Sportsmanship points.
I offer the following modification - from my circle's House Rule on this issue - to Page 62 (Smoke Launchers):
"The Vehicle may not fire any of its weapons in the same turn as it used its Smoke Launchers, but will count as obscured in the next enemy Shooting Phase..."
"The Vehicle may not fire any of its weapons until after the enemy's next Shooting Phase, and will count as obscured during that Shooting Phase..."