Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend and I came across a delima. What counts as the vehicle hull?
We always counted the wings on a storm raven as part of the hull of the vehicle. But when he came to assault my storm raven today he surrounded the base of storm raven and destroyed it. Since the wings were over his unit and counting as the hull I said my unit inside could disembark from the wings using the Emergancy disembarktation rule on page 67.
How would this actually work? Can I actually get out from the wing? Or is there something I am missing?
The FAQ states that the wings are part of the hull, but I would say that what you are suggesting is "bending the rules" a little, the unit should by all means have to disembark from a point of the vehicle that is on the ground, ie.. the base.
The way I play it, I agree with DP. The fact that the vehicle is surrounded ought to make emergency disembark impossible.
Main rulebook doesn't mention anything specific to Skimmers in the Transport>Embarking/Disembarking section. However, in the Assaulting Skimmers section, it mentions that attackers can move to engage the base, the hull, or both. RAW, this would lean me towards allowing emergency disembark from the wings, but I still feel it's against the spirit.
There are three types of people in this world -- those who can count, and those who cannot.
I think the Main Rulebook FAQ sums it up quite nicelyQ: If a skimmer on a large oval flying base is wrecked,
and its base is completely surrounded by enemy
models, are all embarked models killed? (p71)
Last edited by Duo_Sonata; September 16th, 2011 at 01:18.
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
Duo_Sonata - that only comes into play if the vehicle is wrecked, as the OP stated the Stormraven was destroyed and so he appears inside the wreck (or within the space the base was standing on).
The models may not disembark as the wings are not the access points on the model.
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
This to me is one of those really dumbass rules, how pray tell me do you assault a vehicle that is around 30 feet over your head? They really need extending flying bases or a new 'altitude' system to allow people with flyers to not get assaulted, you should have to shoot them down just like IRL.
Because it's a skimmer and not a flyer.