Rough riders lances and furious charge - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Mr Commisar to you Commisarlestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,885
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x8)

    Rough riders lances and furious charge

    I'm pretty sure that the furious charge bonus is effectively ignored similar to powerfists but I can't find the actual rule stating this would be the case. Basically I just wanted to see if there is a specific rule governing this and if so which page is it on in the rulebook!

    Thanks in advance.

    A


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Furious Charge is not ignored on powerfists. The +1 happens after the doubling, so a marine fist with FC will attack at S9.

    The lance would make them S6, then FC would make them S7.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. ThanksCommisarlestat thanked for this post.
  5. #3
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Sorry psichotykwyrm, but that wouldn't be correct. Weapons that are listed as hitting at a fixed strength value do not benefit from Furious Charge (Main Rulebook FAQ page 6). The lances would strike at S5 even if they were affected by Furious Charge, though they would still get the +1 attack.

  6. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  7. #4
    Mr Commisar to you Commisarlestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,885
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x8)

    Thanks for the page ref. Judging by that it's the same with the initiative not that that's an issue ever really.

    Does mean there is no point having straken anywhere near them. Guard assault army is coming into shape :-).

    A

  8. #5
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Commisarlestat View Post
    Does mean there is no point having straken anywhere near them. Guard assault army is coming into shape :-).
    A
    Well he does give them counter-charge (or whatever it's called) as well? Which isn't all that great considering how fragile they are you you should be the one doing the charging with them.

  9. #6
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Good catch on that FAQ item. That one was easily missed.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  10. #7
    Mr Commisar to you Commisarlestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,885
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x8)

    Saying that about countercharge it does mean if they are jumped they still get the use of the lances. Forgotten about that hmmm right think I might write a 1000 pt list for the guard forum to peruse.

    A

  11. #8
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Not at all. The only bonus you get from Counter-attack is the +1A. That is quite explicit; you get no other charge benefits.

    There have been FAQ items for it.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  12. #9
    Mr Commisar to you Commisarlestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,885
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x8)

    That doesn't seem right and contradictsthe lances rule as lances are activated by assaulting it's not a bonus rather than a situation triggering a weapon much like meltas within close range. I'll have a look through countercharge and compare it to the lance rule and see how it looks though to be on the safe side.

    A

  13. #10
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Counter-attack explicitly gives you "+1 assault bonus to attacks, exactly as if they too charged that turn".

    That's it. It does not grant some blanket effect to make you count as charging.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts