Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So veteran player here but honestly the only swarms I've played against are nurglings and they have eternal warrior.
Just looking to see if I'm correct on how this combination works.
1)Swarm is hit by a blast/template weapon that causes instant death resulting in x number of unsaved wounds.
2)Swarms are vulnerable to blasts/templates so this becomes 2x unsaved wounds.
3)Since the weapon causes instant death, this results in 2x swarm bases destroyed.
Correct or no?
1) Following usual instant deat protocol you remove the same number of whole models as there are wounds so 5 wounds = 5 models.
2) Swarms are vunerable to blast/template weapons but the number of wounds work out differently if an infantry unit is shooting or if a vehicle is shooting the blast/template weapon.
I think when a vehicle shoots a template/blast weapon you double the number of wounds the units recieves after working out how many you've hit, so if you've hit 5 models lets say then you cause 10 wounds and roll to wound for those 10 wounds.
If its infantry then you double the number of successful wounds you managed to inflict on the swarm. (That may be actually double the number of unsaved wounds I'd need to double check.) So you hit 5 then roll to wound and then double the number of successful wounds.
It might be the other way round vehicles-infantry but as I said I'm not looking at the rulebook.
3)After the number of wounds has been calculated you remove the number of models required. 2 wounds = 2 models removed as per instant death rule.
Farseer Macleod has it right for the most part. The wounds are doubled on an successful unsaved wound inflicted by the temp weapon. Since most blast markers are at least AP5 and if they are at least S6, then you would double the number of wounds and then insta-kill the scarab.
Thus, say a grey knight incinerator (S6) wounds 3 scarabs. 3W becomes 6W. Because they are S6 wounds, it would then kill 6 scarabs.
Incinerators for the win (no cover as well)!
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2