Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im hearing the cry of cheese at necron's new codex, esp in regards to the spyder/scarabs swarm. It seems that the flavor of the week in rule "Guess-timation?" is that 3x 3 groups of spyders can "Conga line" create scarabs, hence increasing threat. While atm there is no rule stating that the closest point of the scarab group nearest the spyder has to be the starting (birthing) point until a FAQ release. It is my belief that 3 spyders per slot can not 3x super conga line as i have been seeing. My hypothisis for this Scarab hive/birthing process leads me to page 95 of the rules book and although the section may be called "Deep strike" i would ask you to read to yourself the opening sentence "Some units' special rules allow them to enter via tunnelling, teleportation, flying, or [some other extraordinary means]". Im of the opionion that "birthing" is the extraordinary means HOWEVER its also not deepstriking so you get the bonus of no scatter, but placement should be the same, choose 1 existing scarab as the contact (like the deepstrike already placed) and place the new scarabs around that
x = scarabs already on table
0 = birthed scarabs
x x o = yes
x x xo
x x o o o = no
the above is if 1 FoC had 3 spyders and that was just 1 grp birthing when the 2nd and 3rd birth if its all at same time then these grps must target another part of the original scarbs to add there young to (not the recently "same time" birthed grp)
x xo = yes
x x xo
x x o o o o o o o o o = noooooo!
the next turn you get to go out another layer but lets not get conga crazy. Don't get me wrong im building a dozen necron lists a day and about to custom some stalkers for fun so i'd love for the birthing trick to stay but i think the altered deepstriking rule makes sense even if my typing is a shambles.
remeber the spyders might not have it in there rules but the rule book might!
what yers think?
Anything that arrive on the table following the deepstrike rules whether they are made by extraordinary means, and whether they scatter or not should be deployed just the same as any squad who arrive from reserve via Deepstrike.
How ever deep strike is not mentioned at all in the rules for the scarab hive and as such would not follow that rule unless it is FAQ'd I'm afraid. This is similar to a tervigon? Or was it a trygon...I forget but which ever one it is is able to spawn gaunts and they are simply placed within 6 " of Tervi/try-gon, no deep strike or special deployment required.
All the Scarabs have to do is maintain coherency, maintain a 1" distance from an enemy unit and not be placed in impassable terrain in order to be placed on the table. That's my view on it at least.
Mine too.No deep strike rules here.
Praise be to the Emperor!!
GW should hire a group of the most anal, rule obsessed gamers out there to test/play against the new codex for a month before releasing it so that they can address some of these vague special rules.
There is another precedent that people seem to be ignoring:
Can two things, occurring simultaneously at the same point within a given phase, play off each other? The consensus (from previous rulings) would be "No".
For an example of this, look at the concept of a Drop Pod using a Location Beacon on another Drop Pod that same turn. The official ruling is that you cannot use something's ability the turn it arrived; things are happening simultaneously at a specific point in the turn and cannot play off each other.
Thus, in regard to the Spiders ability, all Spiders would use their abilities simultaneously (even though we roll for them one after the other) at the same point at the start of the Movement Phase. This means Scarabs appearing would do so at the same time and would have to join the models already present, not their compatriots just showing up. In the end, no "conga line" trick... only an expanding unit that is limited to appearing within 2" of the models already on the board.
That would have been a bit too early for me .
Praise be to the Emperor!!