Scouts and vehicles. Wanting to clear a few things up. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Son of LO ikbuh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Everywhere and Nowhere
    10 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    115 (x6)

    Scouts and vehicles. Wanting to clear a few things up.

    The FAQ is a little iffy when it comes to scouts in dedicated transports. In the BRB (76), it says that scouts confer the the ability to their dedicated transport, however in the FAQ it states:

    Q: Does a unit with the Scout special rule pass it on to
    any vehicle it is embarked in? (p76)
    A: No.

    Since the FAQ>BRB, does that mean that scouts don't give their dedicated transport scouting?

    Assuming that "any" is referring to non-dedicated transports, it also says in the FAQ:

    Q: If a unit with the Scouts special rule is embarked in
    a vehicle, also with the Scouts special rule, can they
    disembark after the vehicle has moved as part of their
    Scouts move? (p76)
    A: Yes, as long as disembarking would be allowed
    during a normal Movement phase. For example if the
    vehicle has moved flat out they would not be allowed
    to disembark (unless specifically stated otherwise).

    Wouldn't this mean that all scouts can move and disembark because they confer it to their Dedicated transport?

    40k: Silver Angels of Our Martyred Lady 7/2/3 - Daemons of the Great Squiggle! 3/1/0
    Fantasy: Windhost of Athel'Loren 2/0/0 - Daemons of Another Great Squiggle! 0/0/0
    Warmahordes: Legion of Everblight (Absylonia)

  2. Remove Advertisements

  3. #2
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    9 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    951 (x8)

    If a unit has scout and is in a dedicated transport then the transport gets scout too. If said unit instead deploys in a heavy support transport (eg land raider) then it doesn't grant scout to the transport as it isn't dedicated. Scout isnt passed on to any vehicle but the rulebook says it does pass it on to dedicated transports.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  4. #3
    Member Riptok's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Sacramento, CA
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    12 (x1)

    But he's asking if for some crazy-ass reason,

    IF both the scouts PLUS the vehicle had scout could he deploy and get the scout move???

    More so because nowhere does it say that disembarking is legit for any kind of scouting move(less otherwise state in codex.)

    I.E. Scout move--Disembark--Scout Move(maybe even run.)

    That would get the big nay-no.
    Last edited by Riptok; December 3rd, 2011 at 03:49.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts