Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This one is something that I have to query for my own curiosity.
The rules state that if in reserves a unit with a dedicated transport must be embarked in it and can not arrive seperately, yes? FAQs state that a squad may take a Razorback even if the squad size exceeds 6.
Well...what if you are playing battle missions and you take a squad too large to fit in the dedicated transport they have taken and the rules say that that squad MUST be put in reserve for what ever reason? Or have added a character to the squad that cannot embark on the transport? (Wolf Guard in termy armour for example joining a squad that has taken a razorback/rhino)
What we did was just let the unit and transport just enter play simultaneously side by side. In most games its not an issue but it does force a contradiction to the rules a little bit. What do you guys think?
You don't have to have the unit inside of the dedicated transport if held in reserve. You can deploy them separately.
Combat squad the tactical squad and you can have a razorback, then again you can take a razorback as dt and not use it's transport ability. Where does it say units with DT that are in reserve have to arrive inside the DT?
Okay so just to clarify the whole thing, since I now have a couple more questions. (I swear, no matter how long I've played these rules there are always something we're doing wrong. >_< Well so long as everyone is happy I guess no harm, no foul.)
If the unit is not embarked in the vehicle in reserve does the vehicle enter play with them or do you have to roll a seperate reserves roll for the transport?
If you don't need the extra roll then does that mean that a unit with a dedicated transport can be emarked in another vehicle such as a landraider/storm raven and then the storm raven and dedicated transport arrives simultaneously along with the squad?
If the unit is not embarked while in Reserve, then they are separate units.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
Yup as wyrm said, if you don't plonk the unit that bought the DT inside it while both are in reserve i.e you state that said tactical squad is in rhino and reserve, then they are two seperate units and so must be rolled seperately.